Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Contributor
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Bitmap drawing

Hi,

I'm a blackberry novice experimenting with a custom ui control . I'd like to know if it is possible to draw a bitmap at a x and y position and stretch that bitmap for a desired width and heigth.  Also I'm interested to know  if   I could  modify the color of the bitmap pixels. Snippets would be great ! Thanks !

Developer
My Device: various
My Carrier: various

Re: Bitmap drawing

Hi,

it is indeed possible to draw a bitmap at a specific location, as well as scale it while doing so.  However, the full explanation is way beyond the scope of a single message.  I'll assume you are writing a RIM application, not a MIDlet.

1) net.rim.device.api.ui.Field and all its descendants have a protected method paint(net.rim.device.api.ui.Graphics). You custom draw inside the FIeld by overriding this method. There is also an under-documented but working protected void paintBackground(net.rim.device.api.ui.Graphics) method.

2) Graphics class has all kinds of bitmap drawing.  The main one (which does not scale Bitmaps) is drawBitmap.  Still, it lets you specify the position, width and height as well the point of origin inside the Bitmap.

3) You need Graphics.drawTexturedPath for bitmap scaling. This method, however, is not for the faint of heart. Search this forum for drawTexturedPath to find some info (and a few rants).

4) A good alternative, which also makes it easier to scale images, is Graphics.drawImage method. If you look at EncodedImage class, you will find that it has scaleImage32 method. You will need to learn about net.rim.device.api.math.Fixed32 class to scale images using either EncodedImage.scaleImage32 or Graphics.drawTexturedPath.