Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

My Device: Torch
My Carrier: TMobile

Blackberry Networking with HTTP

Good Evening

I am exploring the viability of an idea for a BlackBerry Application. I'm a Windows Desktop Software Developer, but have zero experience of development for mobile platforms. I have some experience of java-based development and PHP.

As I am very much a newby, especially on BlackBerry technologies, please forgive me if my questions drip with naivety. I'm on a steep learning curve.

My understanding from sifting through the latest Java API and looking at some other documentation, is as follows

(1) Many network applications for BlackBerry make use of HTTP POSTs to deliver data to BlackBerry Handsets.

(2) BlackBerry push services also rely on HTTP POSTs, underneath the Push SDK

When a HTTP POST is delivered to a handset, how does the Handset direct the data to the appropriate application? Does each application use its own Port Number on the same kind of basis as TCP/IP; or does each application register itself with a central "listener" that redirects the data on arrival? Is the destination application determined from the content of headers within the HTTP POST? What is the layout of this, and how does it work? Is there a specification?

I have looked at HTTPFilters in the Java API.

If I wanted to, could I build an Application that was capable of temporarily intercepting HTTP data as it arrives on a handset, based on factors such as the source IP address, and/or the identity of the destination application?