Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-22-2011
My Device: Bold 9700
My Carrier: videotron

Blackberry SIMULATOR behind proxy

Hello,

 I am following this link.

http://www.blackberry.com/knowledgecenterpublic/livelink.exe/fetch/2000/348583/800792/801079/How_To_...

 

Everything seems to be configured correctly in rimpublic.property  .I am trying to google using the Blackberry simulator working behind proxy. But no matter what I do, I continue getting the error  "HTTP Error 401:Unauthorized.You are not authorised to view this page.Please try loading a different page"

I have changed the default domain company.com in the MdsLogin.conf file to my required domain.

I am copying the contents of my rimpublic.property file.

 

 

[Logging]
Logging.level=4
Logging.console.log.level=4

[WebServer]
WebServer.Tomcat.transcoding=false
WebServer.listen.host=localhost
WebServer.listen.port=1962
WebServer.listen.sslport=8443
WebServer.servlet.push.port=81
WebServer.servlet.push.host=localhost
WebServer.servlet.sb.ssl=false
WebServer.servlet.sb.authentication=false

[IPPP]
IPPP.push.listen.tcp.port= 81
IPPP.connection.MaxNumberOfKBytesToSend=256
IPPP.queue.flowcontrol.window.size=-1
IPPP.queue.flowcontrol.timeout=600000
IPPP.logging=true

[UDP]
UDP.receive.port=19781
UDP.send.default=19780
UDP.send.host=localhost
UDP.logging=false

[HTTP HANDLER]

application.handler.http.logging = true
application.handler.http.CookieSupport = true
application.handler.http.AuthenticationSupport = true
application.handler.http.AuthenticationTimeout = 360000
application.handler.http.device.connection.timeout = 120000
application.handler.http.server.connection.timeout = 120000
application.handler.http.authentication = ****.*****.******
application.handler.http.proxyPort = 8080
application.handler.http.proxyUser = domain\username   
application.handler.http.proxyPass = password
application.handler.http.proxyAutoConfig = false
application.handler.http.nonProxyHosts = 127.0.0.1|localhost
application.handler.http.logging.verbose= true
application.handler.http.proxyEnabled = true
http.proxyEnabled = true
http.proxyHost = *******.****.****.******
http.proxyPort = 8080
networkaddress.cache.ttl=0

[HTTPS HANDLER]
application.handler.https.allowUntrustedServer = false

[TLS HANDLER]
application.handler.tls.allowUntrustedServer = false
application.handler.tls.logging = true

[OCSP HANDLER]
application.handler.ocsp.StatusProviders = net.rim.protocol.iplayer.connection.handler.device.ocsp.OCSPProvider
application.handler.StatusProviders.OCSP.PrimaryResponderRank   = Default
application.handler.StatusProviders.OCSP.Responder.Default      = http://dhobbs-wnt.rim.net/ocsp
application.handler.StatusProviders.OCSP.UseDeviceResponders    = yes
application.handler.StatusProviders.OCSP.UseCertResponders      = yes
application.handler.ocsp.DebugLogging = no

[LDAP HANDLER]
application.handler.ldap.DEFAULT_SERVER = dhobbs-wnt
application.handler.ldap.DEFAULT_PORT   = 389
application.handler.ldap.DEFAULT_QUERY  = ou=people, o=rim.net
application.handler.ldap.DEFAULT_LIMIT  = 20
application.handler.ldap.COMPRESSION    = true
application.handler.ldap.logging        = false

[Database]
MDSName=MDS

[Simulator]
#[CDK_MODIFICATIONS for Running Multiple Simulators]
# Each simulator instance must have a unique IPPP port assignment
# ie. Simulator fledge.exe command lines must have:
#     /ignore-data-port-conflicts /app-param=IPPPSourcePort: <port>
Simulator.2100000a=MDS,simulator@pushme.com
Simulator.2100000b=MDS,user2100000b@pushme.com
Simulator.2100000c=MDS,user2100000c@pushme.com
Simulator.2100000d=MDS,user2100000d@pushme.com
Simulator.2100000e=MDS,user2100000e@pushme.com
Simulator.2100000f=MDS,user2100000f@pushme.com


[ACL]
ACL.Authorization.Datastore=net.rim.shared.service.authorization.JDBCAuthorizationDatastore

[Java Security Property]
networkaddress.cache.ttl=0

[Email]
#Email.mode                 =standalone
#Email.mode                 =connect
Email.mode                =none

#Common settings for both standalone and connect mode
Email.personal    =Test User
Email.address     =myemail@mycompany.com
Email.deviceId    =2100000a

#Connect mode settings
Email.pop3Server  =popServer
Email.smtpServer  =smtpServer
Email.smtpPort    =25
Email.pop3Port    =110
Email.userId            =popUser
Email.password        =popPassword
Email.pollInterval=30

[SRPH]
SRPH.AuthenticationString=yb3z-iw9z-acbm-e722-bfbk-8fah-hnjj-vmcn-25a8-aqgy
SRPH.UID=S 00005
SRPH.listen.port=3200

#FS.sourceDir=mobitex_simulator
#FSLayer.logging=true
#push.application.reliable.ports=100


Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,784
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Blackberry SIMULATOR behind proxy

What URL are you trying to connect to?  Have you appended ;deviceside=false to the end of your URL to force the connection through the MDS-CS Simulator?

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-22-2011
My Device: Bold 9700
My Carrier: videotron

Re: Blackberry SIMULATOR behind proxy

Hello,

     Thanks for your help. I did append ;deviceside=false to the http URL.This didnot help me though. I have another question which I am trying to figure out. I wish to ping my proxy server .

Home menu Manage Connection menu Mobile Network Options menu tools pin- ping to : ****.****.****.**** -- menu -send ping

But unfortunately in the results I keep getting  A network error occure

What is it that I am missing??

My Services Status is as follow

Home menu Manage Connection- Services Statu

Status: availabl

Connection: Mobile networ

Blackberry  Internet Servic

Connection: Not Connecte

Blackberry Enterprise Serve

Connection: Not Connecte

Why do I get Connection : Not Connected?


Thank

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,784
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Blackberry SIMULATOR behind proxy

Those connection diagnostic tools present in the OS are not fully supported by the BlackBerry smartphone simulator because it doesn't have an actual connection to the BlackBerry Infrastructure or cellular network.

 

Are you making an HTTP or HTTPS connection in your application?  The MDS-CS Simulator does not currently support making an HTTPS connection through a proxy server.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-22-2011
My Device: Bold 9700
My Carrier: videotron

Re: Blackberry SIMULATOR behind proxy

Hello Mark,

                     I am trying to make a HTTP connection through a proxy server.As of now I am not trying to make a HTTPS

connection. I am really surprised at why I cannot make a Http connection through proxy even after the changes made to the rimpublic.property file.

I will really appreciate if you could kindly look into the matter .

Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-22-2011
My Device: Bold 9700
My Carrier: videotron

Re: Blackberry SIMULATOR behind proxy

One more thing...........Why am I not able to ping the proxy server???? Why is it giving a "Network error Occured" ??

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,784
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Blackberry SIMULATOR behind proxy

Do you see activity in the MDS-CS Simulator window when you attempt the connection?

 

Can you confirm whether the 401 is from your proxy or destination server?

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-22-2011
My Device: Bold 9700
My Carrier: videotron

Re: Blackberry SIMULATOR behind proxy

Hello Mark,

                     After toiling for an entire day I was finally able to connect to web pages behind proxy.Thanks for your help.

But  now the problem is that when i access google or any other web site no image is being rendered.

I tried accessing a .jpg which is very well suppoted by Blackberry Simulator. But still the image is not getting displayed.

What can be the possible solution to the problem....??

Thanks.

 

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,784
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Blackberry SIMULATOR behind proxy

What was the solution to the proxy issue?  Could the proxy be striping out images?  Are you able to load an image file if you access it directly using a URL that points to an image?

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-22-2011
My Device: Bold 9700
My Carrier: videotron

Re: Blackberry SIMULATOR behind proxy

Hello,

The solution to the problem of proxy was that there was a conflict of port 81 in rimpublic.properties.Also I changed the application.handler.http.AuthenticationSupport = true to false.

As mentioned I am still not able to access images via the blackberry simulator browser.Even the Google logo is not getting displayed.However as asked by you , I am able to load an image file if I access it directly using a URL that points to an image. No images are getting rendered otherwise. 

Your help will be immensely appreciated

Thanks