Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Developer
Posts: 813
Registered: ‎05-29-2012
My Device: see later
My Carrier: see later

Blackberry bold 7.0 vs blackberry bold 7.1

Two same size machines too, displaywidth and displayheight are the same.

 

On 7.0 my application comes out normal, like in simulator. But in 7.1 I have textbox out of page etc etc. The words  appearing large etc etc ( labelfields)

Why so?
why should it differ?

 

how can I solve this issue?

Developer
Posts: 17,025
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: Blackberry bold 7.0 vs blackberry bold 7.1

debug it.
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Developer
Posts: 813
Registered: ‎05-29-2012
My Device: see later
My Carrier: see later

Re: Blackberry bold 7.0 vs blackberry bold 7.1

How can I debug my code on a machine device?

on simulator it works fine.On device bold 7.0 works fine, on different device but same size the screen .doesnt work ( 7.1)
Developer
Posts: 813
Registered: ‎05-29-2012
My Device: see later
My Carrier: see later

Re: Blackberry bold 7.0 vs blackberry bold 7.1

also why debug helps?

I have same size screen, two difference devices.I have labielfield, it occupies 10 % of the blackberry. whereas in the other one it occupies 40 %.
Developer
Posts: 19,636
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Blackberry bold 7.0 vs blackberry bold 7.1

Are you running this on exactly the same device but with a different OS?

 

What font size have you specified for the LabelField?

 

Can you replicate the same problem with just a standard RIM MainScreen and LabelField?  Or does it happen with your customized Field?  If it is happening with your customized Field, and not with a standard Field, then comment out the customization until the problem resolves itself - then you will know out what you are doing that is causing the problem. 

Developer
Posts: 813
Registered: ‎05-29-2012
My Device: see later
My Carrier: see later

Re: Blackberry bold 7.0 vs blackberry bold 7.1

Its a normal labelfield

 

Labelfield x  = new labelfied("skskjsks");

 

in same device with different os , 7.1 gives  32 ( Font.getDefault().getHeight() ) ...7.0 gives 27 ( Font.getDefault().getHeight() )

 

 

in 7.1 at times i end with **bleep** design

Developer
Posts: 813
Registered: ‎05-29-2012
My Device: see later
My Carrier: see later

Re: Blackberry bold 7.0 vs blackberry bold 7.1

How can I specify font based on page width too?
for ex. , if its 640.. i like it to use 27
Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 19,636
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Blackberry bold 7.0 vs blackberry bold 7.1