Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Developer
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎12-22-2009
My Device: Bold 9000
My Carrier: MTN South Africa

Building a java app that uses the BIS server

Hi Guys,

As you all know I am new to developing for BlackBerry. I am currently working on a little project that incorporates several features, basically as a training project. I am very excited with what I achieved already and really find it interest to create small apps for these excellent devices.

I read in a book that one needs to have ones software authorised to use the BIS server. I would like to know if any of you guys konw more about this and could let me know how one gets this organised and how much it costs.  As service providers have data plans that make use of the BIS technology and provides unlimited browsing via this medium, i think it would only make sense to have network/HTTP enabled applications go through these channels to create a better service for ones users.

I am not sure if basic HTTP calls using java are routed through the BIS already, does anyone know? And if not, how does one go about enabling ones app to use this channel?

Looking forward to your replies.
Werner

Developer
Posts: 212
Registered: ‎07-18-2008
My Device: Storm 9550

Re: Building a java app that uses the BIS server

BIS is only available for Blackberry Alliance Members.

 

For informations about transport routes have a look at

http://www.blackberry.com/DevMediaLibrary/view.do?name=NetworkingTransports

http://www.blackberry.com/DevMediaLibrary/view.do?name=NetworkingTransportsII

 

Also search for network diagnostic tool, a KB article that shows how to do differenent connection or with 5.0 there is a new ConnectionFactory which makes it a little easier

If your problem was solved, please mark answer as "Accepted solution"
If your want to thank, click the "kudo" symbol
___________
visit me: http://mobilejavadevelopment.blogspot.com/
visit the Berlin BlackBerry Developer Group: http://berlinblackberrydevelopers.blogspot.com/
Developer
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎12-22-2009
My Device: Bold 9000
My Carrier: MTN South Africa

Re: Building a java app that uses the BIS server

Thanks for the links, very interesting...

Just a fast question, When using WAP 2.0 or Direct TCP, how does the carriers see this when it comes to the data plans on blackberry, here in South Africa, MTN and Vodacom offer BIS subscription with unlimited email and internet, would this only cater for applications running through BIS, if using WAP 2.0 or Direct TCP I guess this falls outside this unlimited data and is charged on normal data rates?

thanks again...

Developer
Posts: 293
Registered: ‎02-25-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Building a java app that uses the BIS server

[ Edited ]

Connection made using WAP2.0 or Direct TCP are different from connection made using BIS. As far my knowledge, If you have a BIS subscription than all the BB email services and browser services will be served through this subscription. But if a third party app is not using BIS connection than this subscription will not be applicable on this. Direct TCP and WAP 2.0 connection will be using regular data plan from Service provider.

 

 

Thanks,

Amardeep

Developer
Posts: 212
Registered: ‎07-18-2008
My Device: Storm 9550

Re: Building a java app that uses the BIS server

[ Edited ]

Using direct TCP is not covered by the BIS dataplan. It would take the APN of the provider which is normally a different data plan. Same probably for WAP

If your problem was solved, please mark answer as "Accepted solution"
If your want to thank, click the "kudo" symbol
___________
visit me: http://mobilejavadevelopment.blogspot.com/
visit the Berlin BlackBerry Developer Group: http://berlinblackberrydevelopers.blogspot.com/
Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 293
Registered: ‎02-25-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Building a java app that uses the BIS server

I also said the same in my post Smiley Happy i think you didnt get me