Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Developer
Posts: 144
Registered: ‎08-18-2012
My Device: Blackberry Curve 8520
My Carrier: Vodafone

Can't debug on device using eclipse..

Hello Everybody..
I have followed the steps as below:
http://docs.blackberry.com/en/developers/deliverables/12002/Debug_an_app_on_BB_device_656366_11.jsp

I have been trying to do this for past 3 days. But I am not able to debug on my Blackberry Curve device. It shows "Debugger Attaching.." everytime, and nothing else. I have installed Blackberry Desktop Software. But I close it when debugging my App on Device, as I read on some forums.
Can someone tell me what I am doing wrong. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks.

Developer
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎11-24-2011
My Device: Bold 9930
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Can't debug on device using eclipse..

Win7 64bit?

Developer
Posts: 144
Registered: ‎08-18-2012
My Device: Blackberry Curve 8520
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Can't debug on device using eclipse..

Windows 7 , 32 bit OS..

Trusted Contributor
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎02-15-2012
My Device: 9800
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: Can't debug on device using eclipse..

Hi nikita,

Please follow the steps as below:

 

1. Right click on project - Debug as - Debug Configuration

2. Create a new configuration in Blackberry Devices option(At right area) and select your project.

3. Now choose Blackberry Device tab in main area and select Attach to any connected.

4. Click on Debug.

 

It will start to sign all .cod files using BB keys(Hv u installed??) and then attach debugger. It may create 2 warnings while attaching debugger. Don't worry and press OK.

Please let me know if you have any issues.

 

Ankit

Developer
Posts: 144
Registered: ‎08-18-2012
My Device: Blackberry Curve 8520
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Can't debug on device using eclipse..

Hello Ankit,

 

Thanks for your reply. I have already followed those steps, as I said in my 1st post. It signs the .cod files using BB keys. Yes, I have installed them. 

And then after that it shows "Debugger Attaching.." all the time in my BB device and debugging never actually starts. I get no warnings.

What to do now?  

Developer
Posts: 144
Registered: ‎08-18-2012
My Device: Blackberry Curve 8520
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Can't debug on device using eclipse..

Forgot to mention, I have my app Auto run on startup and I dont display its icon on HomeScreen..

Trusted Contributor
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎02-15-2012
My Device: 9800
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: Can't debug on device using eclipse..

[ Edited ]

Try this - While debugging do not close the BB Desktop manager.

 

OR 

 

I think you are using curve 8520 and it supports upto Blackberry 5.0.

 

Have u created your application in 5.0 or lower.

 

If above mentioned line is Ok, then uninstall all keys and try to install new keys in your eclipse.

 

Thanks,

Ankit

Developer
Posts: 243
Registered: ‎07-22-2011
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: AirTel

Re: Can't debug on device using eclipse..

Hi,

Do you haveBlackBerry Desktop manager software in your pc if not you are not able to debug your app with device.

 

Regards,

Lakshman K

----------------------------------------------------------
Feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.

Developer
Posts: 144
Registered: ‎08-18-2012
My Device: Blackberry Curve 8520
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Can't debug on device using eclipse..

Yes Ankit, I'm using BB Java Curve 8250 and I'm using BB plugin for eclipse 1.5.2 .

Developer
Posts: 144
Registered: ‎08-18-2012
My Device: Blackberry Curve 8520
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Can't debug on device using eclipse..

Hello lakshman9680, I have my application hidden. So its not listed in BlackBerry Desktop manager's Application Tab. How should I debug?