Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎08-19-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Can't hit an IP address

Hi Peter and others,

                        Iam also facing similar kind of problem,i posted my problem in new thread also.....As am also having individual device,but i cannot connect my application via direct TCP(because it is not permitted by service provider).......if I go for BIS plan then what shall I do for that?shalll i have to contact to my carrier or anything else?.......Iam in India........

Developer
Posts: 19,636
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Can't hit an IP address

ankit2grover - I think we should leave this thread to duksunkim - I and a number of others have responded in your other thread.  Next time, can you post a link to your new thread?

 

duksunkim.  Just to confirm you problem.

 

You are issuing an http connection, using a standard URL with ";deviceside=true", and you get through to your Server when your firewall blocks NO ports.  However when only Port 80 is open, you get a 500 error.  Is that correct a correct summary of your problem?

 

To clarify, a standard URL is something http://www.google.com, can you confirm that you are not routing to a specific port using something like http://www.google.com:8080.

 

If my summary above is correct, then I suggest you start another Thread, with just that question.

 

However, I must admit that I think you only require port 80 to be open.  Certainly my testing that is enough.  I would try to confirm that your firewall is not doing some other blocking.  In addition, you ask which ports to open.  I would suggest your firewall logs might provide that answer.

 

Also I would try getting an http page from some other site, just to prove that the problem occurs with all sites, not just yours.

New Developer
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-17-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Can't hit an IP address

Hi all,

 

Im new to network transport in blackberry. Im developing an applicaton that connects to server. Im using httpConnection. This applicatoin is running successfully on all device excepts devices with t-mobile.

 

How can i identify whether mobile supporting t-mobile or anything else.

 

Can you tell me whether we can retrive apn address and carrier name programmtiaclly?

 

If yes can you tell me how to do that.

 

Thanks,

 

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,753
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Can't hit an IP address

You can use the RadioInfo class to determine the carrier the user is on.  There is no way to programmatically determine APN information for a carrier, but you can specify it when you make a connection.  I recommend having a look at the following links.

 

What Is - Maximum number of simultaneous connections
Article Number: DB-00480

http://www.blackberry.com/knowledgecenterpublic/livelink.exe/fetch/2000/348583/800451/800563/What_Is...

 

How To - Specify APN information for a direct TCP connection 
Article Number: DB-00532

http://www.blackberry.com/knowledgecenterpublic/livelink.exe/fetch/2000/348583/800451/800563/How_To_...

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
New Developer
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-17-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Can't hit an IP address

I went through these links. My app will be used by people all over the world in different carriers. How can i know what apn is used for that carrier.

 

Can we find carrier programmatically?  If yes how?

 

Also, from where i will get apn for corresponding carrier

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,753
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Can't hit an IP address

There is no method to obtain a carrier's APN.  You or your users would need to contact the carrier to determine it.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
New Developer
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-17-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Can't hit an IP address

Ok. Thanks.

 

I want to use WiFi to communicate to server. 

 

Following link gives details about that.


http://www.blackberry.com/knowledgecenterpublic/livelink.exe/fetch/2000/348583/800451/800563/What_Is...

 

 

My question is there compulsion that to use wifi we have to use socket connection? In that case is there any need to change server side?

 

Also the url of server that im using is;

 

http://xyz.com/servlet/servletName?app=BB

 

Can you tell me How can i specify connection url to use wifi also what port number should i specify?

 

Thanks

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,753
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Can't hit an IP address

Wi-Fi connections are not limited to just socket connections.  That is just an example used.  To specify that the connection should be made over Wi-Fi you can append ;interface=wifi to the end of your URL.
Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
New Developer
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-17-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Can't hit an IP address

Can i connect to server by using httpConnection?

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,753
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Can't hit an IP address

Yes, HTTP connections are supported over Wi-Fi.
Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker