Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Developer
Posts: 490
Registered: ‎07-16-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Can't work with AT&T Media Net.

Hi guys.

 

My application can't  work with AT&T Media Net.

Is there any configuration for AT&T Media Net ?

 

Please advice.

 

Thanks in advance.

Developer
Posts: 19,636
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Can't work with AT&T Media Net.

I presume you are talking about http connections.  What connection methods have you tried and what responses/Exceptions are you seeing?

Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 490
Registered: ‎07-16-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Can't work with AT&T Media Net.

Hi Peter.

Sorry for long time response.

 

Yes. it is about Http connection. I've tried

 

 

HttpConnection httpConnection = null;
InputStreamReader isr = null;
try {
httpConnection = (HttpConnection)Connector.open(url + ";ConnectionTimeout=45000");
httpConnection.setRequestMethod(HttpConnection.GET);
httpConnection.setRequestProperty("Content-Type", "text/plain; charset=utf-8");
httpConnection.setRequestProperty("Host", "hostname");
httpConnection.setRequestProperty("Expect", "100-continue");
int res = httpConnection.getResponseCode();

if(res == HttpConnection.HTTP_OK) {
//Catche response here.
//Read data here.
}
} catch(Exception e) {
}

 

 

Sorry. I couldn't see the exception.

 

Thanks in advance.

 

Developer
Posts: 19,636
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Can't work with AT&T Media Net.

You will never see an exception if you have this coded:

 

} catch(Exception e) {
}

 

I suggest that you change that to give you some informatin about any exceptions generated. 

 

I also suggest that you review this Thread and the associated required reading.  If this does not help you resolve your problem, can you explain your problem again, with more details, for example, tell us what connection suffix you are using, the exception being thrown, what is in the log etc.

 

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Java-Development/Connecting-your-BlackBerry-http-and-socket-c...

Developer
Posts: 490
Registered: ‎07-16-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Can't work with AT&T Media Net.

Hi,

Thanks.

 

My application detects all kinds of connection (TCP, MDS, BISB, WiFi, Wap2, Unite).

I as see, my application can't detect the network connection, when user turned on Media Net with AT&T.

 

So, maybe there is another suffix or configuration for AT&T Media Net. 

 

In other all cases (not Media Net), my application works fine. So, I thought there is different configuration for Media Net.

 

If anyone knows about it, please advice.

 

I contacted to AT&T support. They didn't say the solution.

 

Thanks in advance.

 

Developer
Posts: 19,636
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Can't work with AT&T Media Net.

OK, I understand the question now.

 

AFAIK, there is nothing to identify if a device has Direct TCP, so I'm not sure how you 'detect'  that.  I've found this page that seems to have suggested APN Settings.  Have you tried these?

 

http://www.cellphonemall.net/wireless/store/custom.aspx?id=4

 

Settings are:

GPRS APN:   WAP.CINGULAR
User Name:   WAP@CINGULARGPRS.COM
Password:   CINGULAR1

Developer
Posts: 490
Registered: ‎07-16-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Can't work with AT&T Media Net.

Thanks.

 

I use this configuration when operator is "Cingular". I never used it for AT&T.

 

I will try this, then back post the result.

 

Thanks a lot, Peter.