Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Highlighted
New Developer
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎04-09-2009
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Choosing IDE version and App listing problem

Hola,

I am using JDE - 4.5.0.7 to develop an app targeting following device-simulators,
1. Blackberry Curve 8310 - v4.5.0.55
2. Blackberry Bold 9000 - v4.6.0.190
3. Blackberry Curve 8900 - v4.6.1.109
4. Blackberry Storm 9530 - v4.7.0.41

I have a few questions,
1. Given the forward application compatibility of blackberry platform [ref.this], is my choice for an IDE correct?
2. If the answer is yes, then but isn't 4.5.0.7(JDE) version is less than 4.5.0.55(device) version? or we can ignore the minor version(4th digit in the version)?
3. I have written a simple test app and trying to run it on, Curve 8310 simulator, but it's not listed under Options->Ad.Option->Applications list? I have verified,
- It's CLDC app
- System module and Auto-run is turned off

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,
FG
Developer
Posts: 1,477
Registered: ‎12-30-2008
My Device: Torch 9810

Re: Choosing IDE version and App listing problem

You don't have to investigate at this level ..

 

1) Yes your choice of IDE is correct!

2) That'll not be a big deal..

--
Manimaran Selvan
Co-Founder, Tech Lead,
Equity Markets Research Group
Developer
Posts: 1,477
Registered: ‎12-30-2008
My Device: Torch 9810

Re: Choosing IDE version and App listing problem

3) Is it showing up normally? In the homescreen I meant!

 

Thanks! 

--
Manimaran Selvan
Co-Founder, Tech Lead,
Equity Markets Research Group
Developer
Posts: 3,951
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Choosing IDE version and App listing problem

3. Download application thru OTA be listed under Application list.

Use Search. "Accept Solution" If the problem is resolved.
Developer
Posts: 1,477
Registered: ‎12-30-2008
My Device: Torch 9810

Re: Choosing IDE version and App listing problem

@BBDeveloper - Hope I'm going to know a new thing! Smiley Tongue .. Will that application list only show, the applications that got downloaded OTA? Why is it so?

 

Thanks! 

--
Manimaran Selvan
Co-Founder, Tech Lead,
Equity Markets Research Group
New Developer
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎04-09-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Choosing IDE version and App listing problem

Hey thanks. Surprisingly the app icon does appear in the homescreen. But not listed under applications.

 

I want to grant event-injection permission to this app and I guess no other way unless listed as application. Right?

 

Thanks for the help.

New Developer
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎04-09-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Choosing IDE version and App listing problem

Yeah mantaker, good question. I want to know as well. Smiley Surprised
Developer
Posts: 342
Registered: ‎02-04-2009
My Device: BB 8320

Re: Choosing IDE version and App listing problem

@FrugalHorn 

You may find your application inside downloads folder.


Use Search. "Accept Solution" if the problem gets resolved.
Developer
Posts: 3,951
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Choosing IDE version and App listing problem

@mantaker, It is designed in that way. As you know JAD will have the attributes about the application.

 

One more way is using Javaloader.exe to load JAD file instead of COD files.


Use Search. "Accept Solution" If the problem is resolved.
Developer
Posts: 1,477
Registered: ‎12-30-2008
My Device: Torch 9810

Re: Choosing IDE version and App listing problem

it is even not listed in Application Permissions under Security Options.. How an user will grant permission to an application if it is not listed?

 

Thanks! 

--
Manimaran Selvan
Co-Founder, Tech Lead,
Equity Markets Research Group