Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Developer
Posts: 261
Registered: ‎08-11-2009
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Converting the code from 4.5 to 4.7( Touch )

Hi BB Developers  ,

 

I have created an app in 4.5 , now i need that same code to work in 4.7 storm unfortunatily  i dont have the real device to test . i have run the same code in simulator , but when my client tested in real device many of the things are not responding in touch (storm)

 

In my app im using buttons , menu, listfied etc.

In ( 4.5 )   have given  code for the button as click  button.setChangeListener 

in menu i just called a function

listfield i have written a function which fires when the listfiled is selecetd.

 

so my doubt is how can i handle this events in touch

 

can any one come forward and help me to sort out this issue.

 

 

 

Thanks

sujithRavindran

 

 

 

 

 

Developer
Posts: 261
Registered: ‎08-11-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Converting the code from 4.5 to 4.7( Touch )

can comments PLZ???

Developer
Posts: 19,636
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Converting the code from 4.5 to 4.7( Touch )

You can test all the touch events in the Simulator perfectly acceptably.  It is not the same as the real thing, but you can still test.

 

My immediate thought is that your customer was running your app in compatibility mode.  In this mode they will see a blue edge to the top of the screen and a key board permanently in position at the bottom.  Was this was the customer saw?

 

If so, compile the app in 4.7, sign and then give that to the customer to try. 

 

Regarding your specific questions:

 

"have given  code for the button as click  button.setChangeListener ".  This works fine in touch device, but only for real RIM buttons.  Customer buttons might not work so well.

 

"in menu i just called a function"

This will work fine in touch screen

 

"listfield i have written a function"

I presume you use navigationClick.  I don't use this, but I see no reason why this does not work.

 

In addition, you may also find that fields need to be spaced out to enable them to be selected by fat fingers.  This applies especially to ListFields and EditFields - real Buttons make themselves larger.

 

Hope this helps. 

Developer
Posts: 261
Registered: ‎08-11-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Converting the code from 4.5 to 4.7( Touch )

Thanks peter,,

 

let me send the code after compling this with 4.7, will get back to u soon thanks a lot

 

 

Developer
Posts: 261
Registered: ‎08-11-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Converting the code from 4.5 to 4.7( Touch )

Hi any more comments on this

Developer
Posts: 19,636
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Converting the code from 4.5 to 4.7( Touch )

Are you looking for more from me, or from other people?

Developer
Posts: 261
Registered: ‎08-11-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Converting the code from 4.5 to 4.7( Touch )

 want to check with others if they want to add more comments on this

Developer
Posts: 261
Registered: ‎08-11-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Converting the code from 4.5 to 4.7( Touch )

Hi Peter,

 

I have created custom button ,in constructor i have typed

super(ButtonField.CONSUME_CLICK);

will that solve the issue on buttons in (strom )

 

 

 

Developer
Posts: 19,636
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Converting the code from 4.5 to 4.7( Touch )

That will not solve the problem I see that people typically have.

 

Search the forum for people with issues with custom buttons on Storms.

 

Here is a useful Thread:

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Java-Development/BitmapField-on-touch-screen-problem/m-p/4660...