Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 296
Registered: ‎12-07-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Creating Popups?

[ Edited ]

Hey I've tried to google it and tried to search on here, but I came up with little to nothing. I also searched through the blackberry docs.

 

I'm trying to write a simple program that that will popup when a text is received. I can't figure out how to popup a menu. Can anyone point me in the right direction? This is similar to what I'm looking for

 

http://www.mobihand.com/upload/671/21671/screenshot_2.gif

 

Thanks

 

I'm using JDE 4.7

Message Edited by dmglakewood on 12-23-2008 10:27 PM
Developer
Posts: 3,951
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Creating Popups?

Hi,

JDE ships with a very good example for Notifications. Look for "notificationsdemo" Sample in JDE.

 

Tnx.

 


Use Search. "Accept Solution" If the problem is resolved.
Developer
Posts: 296
Registered: ‎12-07-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Creating Popups?

Man I use the samples all the time to refence to. I don't know how I didn't see that.

 

Thanks for the heads up.

Developer
Posts: 296
Registered: ‎12-07-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Creating Popups?

[ Edited ]

Okay new problem

 

I'm trying to center a RichTextField but it's not working. Here is the code I'm using 

private RichTextField textLine = new RichTextField("\n Or \n", FIELD_HCENTER);

 

It displays the OR and the two spaces but everything is let aligned. It will not center on the screen.

 

Any ideas?

 

Message Edited by dmglakewood on 12-24-2008 02:59 AM
Developer
Posts: 5,339
Registered: ‎09-20-2008
My Device: ***
My Carrier: ***

Re: Try this ...

private RichTextField textLine = new RichTextField("\n Or \n", RichTextField.FIELD_HCENTER | RichTextField.USE_ALL_WIDTH);
Developer
Posts: 296
Registered: ‎12-07-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Try this ...


tbilisoft wrote:
private RichTextField textLine = new RichTextField("\n Or \n", RichTextField.FIELD_HCENTER | RichTextField.USE_ALL_WIDTH);

Hmm I tried that and it still stays to the left. I tried a few other things and it seems to be content to stay to the left. I can't seem to figure it out.

Developer
Posts: 5,339
Registered: ‎09-20-2008
My Device: ***
My Carrier: ***

Re: Try this ...

What if make richtextfield use the full screen width and set the text as horizontally centered?

 

Like that:

 

private RichTextField textLine = new RichTextField("\n Or \n", RichTextField.USE_ALL_WIDTH | RichTextField.TEXT_ALIGN_HCENTER);

 

 

Developer
Posts: 296
Registered: ‎12-07-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Try this ...


tbilisoft wrote:

What if make richtextfield use the full screen width and set the text as horizontally centered?

 

Like that:

 

private RichTextField textLine = new RichTextField("\n Or \n", RichTextField.USE_ALL_WIDTH | RichTextField.TEXT_ALIGN_HCENTER);

 

 


That works perfectly thanks