Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Trusted Contributor
My Device: Torch
My Carrier: Digicel
Accepted Solution

Custom Filter field

[ Edited ]

I am trying to make a custom Edit field, with its own filter.

I already know about extending TextFilter and overriding validate and convert, but it;s giving me trouble. I also know about the whole FILTER_NUMERIC tag, as well as others, but I still can't get it to work.

My objective is to make a basic time validate field(This is the only way I want it done). The user user can't enter a number greater than sixty or less than five. I can't get it to work though. it has no errors but when I run it I get a runtime error. I know for one that the 60 is a string not a character but I'm lost.

Please, I'd love some help. Some source code would be much appreciated. I'm an utter noobasaurus!

Here is my code:

public static class TimeValidateField extends AutoTextEditField
{
	TimeValidateFilter timeVal=new TimeValidateFilter();

TimeValidateField(String label ,String label1,int digits,int min,int max)
	{
		super(label,label1);
		this.setFilter(timeVal);

}

public class TimeValidateFilter extends TextFilter{

public char convert(char character, int status) {
			if(!validate(character)){
				return 0;
			}
			else
			{				
				return character;
			}
		}

public boolean validate(char character) {

if(character > 60){
				return false;
			}else if(character < 1){
					return false;
			}else{
				return true;
			}

}

}
}

Any suggetions please?

You would be meaningless.
Contributor
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Custom Filter field

Hi,

There is a method validate(AbstractString text) in TextFilter, try using that. Something like this:

public boolean validate(AbstractString text){

if(text.leanght() >60){

return false;

} else if(text.lenght() < 1){

return false;