Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Developer
Posts: 1,746
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
My Device: Passport Silver, PRIV
My Carrier: Telekom.de, O2, Vodafone

Re: Debugger Failed to connect to remote VM. Connection refused.

thx to Mark Sohm and others helping and testing so much to find the reason why the Debugger doesnt work.

 

we failed - all looks good but the Debugger still won't connect to remote VM

 

so le last step was to create all from scratch:

 

* create new Parallels VM with Windows 7 64 bit

* install SDK 32 bit

* install Full Eclipse PlugIn and also classic Eclipse + Updatesite

* install new signature keys

 

and finally it works again Smiley Happy

 

from my POV there's no difference to the prev. installation, but who knows

 

so I'll watch all my steps carefully - so perhaps if it happens again we'll find the reason

 

If you're interested: I have described all steps here:

http://ekkescorner.wordpress.com/blog-series/blackberrydev/

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ekke (independent software architect, rosenheim, germany)

BlackBerry Elite Developer
BlackBerry Platinum Enterprise Partner
International Development native Mobile Business Apps
BlackBerry 10 | Qt Mobile (Android, iOS)
Workshops / Trainings / Bootcamps

blog: http://ekkes-corner.org
mobile-development: http://appbus.org Twitter: @ekkescorner
Developer
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎11-12-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Debugger Failed to connect to remote VM. Connection refused.

[ Edited ]

Guys,

 

I have been using the eclipse plugin for blackberry (Galileo) since a while now..and everything seemed to work fine till a month back..suddenly my debugger started giving issues.It shows connection timed out exception and does not let the debugger attach at all.

 

Initially i used to do some steps like cleaning the simulator, creating a new debug configuration,re-installing the eclipse plugin, re-booting the system,etc and that used to work for 1-2 debug cycles.However off late, the debugger ALWAYS fails to attach and is really becoming a bottle-neck for me.

 

I went through the thread and the solution, but i am not able to completely understand how do i need to go about it.Can anyone please make it simpler and easily doable for me?I am a newbie and not at all known to the areas of the parallel VMs and jdk bits talked about in the solution.

 

Any help would be greatly appreciated,

Hiral

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-06-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Debugger Failed to connect to remote VM. Connection refused.

I suspect this problem is created by the .NET framework eclipse is built on.  I had the same problem when using Visual Studio 2002  to develop software.  The problem was resolved when I upgraded to VS 2005. 

 

In the meantime, if cleaning the simulator and the eclipse debugger doesn't work, I create a new project and transfer the source files to the new project.  It's a pain but it works.  BTW, I had to do the same thing when I used VS 2002.

Developer
Posts: 1,807
Registered: ‎04-28-2009
My Device: Z10 (STL100-4)-10.3.2.858, Z10 (STL100-3)-10.3.1.2576, Z30 (STA100-5)-10.3.1.2582, Passport (SQW100-1)-10.3.1.2576, PlayBook (16GB)-2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Debugger Failed to connect to remote VM. Connection refused.

Eclipse is built on top of Java, not .Net.

---Spends time in #blackberrydev on freenode (IRC)----
Three simple rules:
1. Please use the search bar before making new posts.
2. "Like" posts that you find helpful.
3. If a solution has been found for your post, mark it as solved.
--I code too much. Well, too bad.
Developer
Posts: 656
Registered: ‎02-03-2010
My Device: Z10 LE
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Debugger Failed to connect to remote VM. Connection refused.

I have been having the same problem and something Mark mentioned led me to the solution.  

 

My antivirus (Norton) was blocking the ports needed between the simulator and VM.  I disabled the firewall settings in Norton and the debugger is working like new again.

 

Hope hope this helps if you also have antivirus installed.

 


Steven Kader at JaredCo
   Follow me on Twitter    |     Mipixi.com :  Web App for Photo Sharing
Developer
Posts: 1,807
Registered: ‎04-28-2009
My Device: Z10 (STL100-4)-10.3.2.858, Z10 (STL100-3)-10.3.1.2576, Z30 (STA100-5)-10.3.1.2582, Passport (SQW100-1)-10.3.1.2576, PlayBook (16GB)-2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Debugger Failed to connect to remote VM. Connection refused.

That would make sense. From what I remeber the "connection timed out" exceptions were network time outs. Heck, even the PlayBook sim relies on new connections.

 

@JaredCo do you think you can post what ports you needed to unblock so if others encounter the issue they know what to look for?

---Spends time in #blackberrydev on freenode (IRC)----
Three simple rules:
1. Please use the search bar before making new posts.
2. "Like" posts that you find helpful.
3. If a solution has been found for your post, mark it as solved.
--I code too much. Well, too bad.
Developer
Posts: 656
Registered: ‎02-03-2010
My Device: Z10 LE
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Debugger Failed to connect to remote VM. Connection refused.

I didn't get it to that level, just turned off the firewall completely since I am behind my router anyway.


Steven Kader at JaredCo
   Follow me on Twitter    |     Mipixi.com :  Web App for Photo Sharing
Developer
Posts: 1,807
Registered: ‎04-28-2009
My Device: Z10 (STL100-4)-10.3.2.858, Z10 (STL100-3)-10.3.1.2576, Z30 (STA100-5)-10.3.1.2582, Passport (SQW100-1)-10.3.1.2576, PlayBook (16GB)-2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Debugger Failed to connect to remote VM. Connection refused.

Ok, if you ever get around to doing it then post up the ports.

---Spends time in #blackberrydev on freenode (IRC)----
Three simple rules:
1. Please use the search bar before making new posts.
2. "Like" posts that you find helpful.
3. If a solution has been found for your post, mark it as solved.
--I code too much. Well, too bad.
Developer
Posts: 1,746
Registered: ‎04-08-2010
My Device: Passport Silver, PRIV
My Carrier: Telekom.de, O2, Vodafone

Re: Debugger Failed to connect to remote VM. Connection refused.

if you read this thread completely: Mark Sohm already has posted how to change the ports

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ekke (independent software architect, rosenheim, germany)

BlackBerry Elite Developer
BlackBerry Platinum Enterprise Partner
International Development native Mobile Business Apps
BlackBerry 10 | Qt Mobile (Android, iOS)
Workshops / Trainings / Bootcamps

blog: http://ekkes-corner.org
mobile-development: http://appbus.org Twitter: @ekkescorner
Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 1,807
Registered: ‎04-28-2009
My Device: Z10 (STL100-4)-10.3.2.858, Z10 (STL100-3)-10.3.1.2576, Z30 (STA100-5)-10.3.1.2582, Passport (SQW100-1)-10.3.1.2576, PlayBook (16GB)-2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Debugger Failed to connect to remote VM. Connection refused.

Woops, my bad. Must have lost it in the five pages. I see it's on page 4. Good to know.

---Spends time in #blackberrydev on freenode (IRC)----
Three simple rules:
1. Please use the search bar before making new posts.
2. "Like" posts that you find helpful.
3. If a solution has been found for your post, mark it as solved.
--I code too much. Well, too bad.