Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎08-27-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Debugging doesn't work

Hey community,

 

i try to debug a written application on the simulator but it won't work!!

 

What i do is right-clicking on the project, selecting "debug as" and then clicking on "Blackberry Simulator". After this the simulator starts up and stucks with the message "Debugger attached" on the screen.

 

There's no switching in the debug-view and no stopping at a set breakpoint or whatsoever!

 

Is there anything i have to do, which i forgot about??

I think debugging should be that easy...am i wrong?

 

regards

mposch

Developer
Posts: 466
Registered: ‎03-04-2009
My Device: 8520
My Carrier: some

Re: Debugging doesn't work

What version of BlackBerry Java plug-in for Eclipse are you using?

Got resolved! Press kudo icon!
Contributor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎08-27-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Debugging doesn't work

v1.3, I guess thats the actual version.

Developer
Posts: 466
Registered: ‎03-04-2009
My Device: 8520
My Carrier: some

Re: Debugging doesn't work

While starting simulator in Debug mode do you see any messages in Console?

Got resolved! Press kudo icon!
Contributor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎08-27-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Debugging doesn't work

thats all i can get you...

 

Developer
Posts: 656
Registered: ‎02-03-2010
My Device: Z10 LE
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Debugging doesn't work

You may want to try and disable any anit-virus / firewalls that could be interfering.


Steven Kader at JaredCo
   Follow me on Twitter    |     Mipixi.com :  Web App for Photo Sharing
Developer
Posts: 248
Registered: ‎11-23-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Debugging doesn't work

Do you get a white screen with the "Debugger Attached" message in the centre??

 

if yes then you can try this:

 

press the BlackBerry trackpad/trackball key in the center of the emulator a couple of times, it should display a menu. Then select close option to go to the main screen.

 

or you can try pressing the BlackBerry key to popup the same menu screen.

 

try this and let me know.

 

Thanks,
Saket

Contributor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎08-27-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Debugging doesn't work

after starting the debugging i end up with the screen shown below.

 

i tried to deactivate the antivirus/firewall tools and pressing the trackball and pressing the BlackBerry button, nothing worked.

 

do you think i should try a re-installation?

Developer
Posts: 466
Registered: ‎03-04-2009
My Device: 8520
My Carrier: some

Re: Debugging doesn't work

hmm... BlackBerry Torch simulator is quite heavy by means of computer hardware. This might really have the impact

Got resolved! Press kudo icon!
Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 248
Registered: ‎11-23-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Debugging doesn't work

Which IDE are you using? is it on Eclipse?

 

Have you tried Resetting the Emulator? try this link:

 

http://docs.blackberry.com/en/developers/deliverables/9328/Reset_the_BBSmrtphnSimltr_723307_11.jsp

 

Hope it helps!