05-04-2011 09:35 AM
When I remove ym dev app (by just deleting) and add a new version of the app some parts of the app which been removed seem to be carried across. What is the correct way for deleting/adding a newer version of an app ?
Solved! Go to Solution.
05-04-2011 11:26 AM
I restart my device too.. Think that is unavoidable..
05-04-2011 01:11 PM
05-04-2011 02:25 PM
"But when you try to delete any application, it will be just marked for deletion"
Are you sure? As noted some applications (e.g. those with autostart processes currently running) do require a restart before deletion but I thought simple apps would delete completely.
05-04-2011 03:23 PM
When you say just by deleting do you mean just deleting from the device application menu? I have noticed properties and components being carried across one version to the next if I overwrite the existing version with another but not when I delete the old first and then load the new version.
You could try erasing the module through javaloader and then load the application.
05-04-2011 06:29 PM
"I have noticed properties and components being carried across one version to the next if I overwrite the existing version with another but not when I delete the old first and then load the new version."
If you delete an application, and associated persistent storage will be removed. If you update an application, provided the persistent store classes have not changed, they are retained. I think this explains what you see.
05-05-2011 03:05 AM - edited 05-05-2011 03:13 AM
Peter i did a R&D on App deletetion (ofcourse it failed as we wanted to restrict App deletion).So at that time i created Two apps Auto start , Normal HelloWorldApp.And programatically tried to delete these two apps they were just marked for deletion.As i have implemented CodeModuleListener in my App i was able to monitor it's methods. moduleDeletionsPending method of that listener got executed , but modulesDeleted method in that CodeModuleListner is not executed.I waited for some time but still no result.Ofcourse i tried this in simulator not on device.I am a beginer in blackberry peter thats why i can't say anything about the surity .I replied in this thread on the basis of my R&D experience.
05-05-2011 03:40 AM
05-05-2011 05:34 AM
I just deleted and reinstalled an App World app (VirginTrain Tickets, which is free, so you can test this) without a restart. If the device required a reboot to delete, would it have let me re-install? OS 5.0, 8520.