Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Highlighted
New Developer
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-28-2008
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Deploying multiple cod files with a single jad file

I'm developing two applications, A and B, that I want to web-deploy as a single package; the desired user-experience is that the user clicks on a single link, and both applications are installed.

 

I have cod file A and cod file B, and I want a link that points to a single jad file to install these cod files.  What lines do I need, at a minimum, in the jad file to have this work?

 

Keoki Zee

 

Developer
Posts: 19,636
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Deploying multiple cod files with a single jad file

Check the Development Guide.  In 4.3, 4.5 and 4.6 versions, review "Modify information in a .jad file", in section "Distributing BlackBerry Java Applications over the wireless network" of Chapter "Packaging and distributing BlackBerry Java Applications".

 

Note you can also do this by hand if you want to.  Basically, all you are doing is adding lines like the following to the jad for each cod

 

RIM-COD-URL-n: <cod name>.cod
RIM-COD-Size-n: <cod size>

New Developer
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-28-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Deploying multiple cod files with a single jad file

I read the solution that you directed me to, I used the updatejad tool and it worked perfectly.

 

Thanks!

Keoki Zee

Developer
Posts: 412
Registered: ‎09-12-2008
My Device: 9000 9810

Re: Deploying multiple cod files with a single jad file

Hi.

 

My 'multiple' .cod issue is a bit different.

I have 5 .cod files in my app (because its size is > 200K).

 

When downloading OTA, the Device prompts me for an update of every .cod separately.

 

This is bad user experience, because the user shouldn't care less if there are 5, 10 or n .cod files, right ?

 

Did I misconfigure something?



"Listen carefully, I shall say this only once"
BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,889
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Deploying multiple cod files with a single jad file

Do you have 5 sibling cod files (filename-1.cod, filename-2.cod, etc...) or do you have an application cod file with 4 library cod files (5 different projects)?  If it is the second, the user would be prompted to upgrade the application and each library.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Developer
Posts: 412
Registered: ‎09-12-2008
My Device: 9000 9810

Re: Deploying multiple cod files with a single jad file

Sorry for the late response.

 

It was 5 siblings.

 

But the issue is now resolved. Actually this is (another) minus for the BB app installer. But it's ok.

This is the scenario:

 

1) I had only one cod (<50K)

2) i included some config files to the installer (app now rose to over 200K)

3) I used OTA installation (through BB browser)

 

First time, the installer propted to update only one (the first module).

Every OTA installation later than that, the installer prompts me for each module.

 

By using Desktop manager to uninstall the app I noticed there are two apps installled (!). After uninstalling both and a reboot, I never hat this issue again.

 

Thanks for your interest.

 



"Listen carefully, I shall say this only once"