Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Developer
Posts: 342
Registered: ‎02-04-2009
My Device: BB 8320
Accepted Solution

Does "Auto-run on startup" option need to be specified in BB device?

I have developed an incoming email message alert application and I have also set it as "Auto-run on startup" in the Application tab in the BlackBerry JDE.

 

I have installed it into BB device using BlackBerry Desktop Software's Application Loader and restarted the BB device. But, still its not listening for the incoming messages. Does I need to change any properties in the actual BB device to start this application? 


Use Search. "Accept Solution" if the problem gets resolved.
Developer
Posts: 1,477
Registered: ‎12-30-2008
My Device: Torch 9810

Re: Does "Auto-run on startup" option need to be specified in BB device?

Is your application RIM signed?

 

Thanks! 

--
Manimaran Selvan
Co-Founder, Tech Lead,
Equity Markets Research Group
Developer
Posts: 16,984
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: Does "Auto-run on startup" option need to be specified in BB device?

remove the autostart as long as you test your application, you can see errors without restarting your device.
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Developer
Posts: 342
Registered: ‎02-04-2009
My Device: BB 8320

Re: Does "Auto-run on startup" option need to be specified in BB device?

[ Edited ]

@mantaker

 

Yes, I have signed my application and one other application (Custom SMS) which has GUI is working properly. But, I can't check this listener application, because its not have any screen associated with it. Its just a background application. Whenever an email message arrives, then only it will popup an alert message.

 

@simon_hain 

 

Ok, I will uncheck the auto-restart option. But, don't get any error while rebooting though!

Message Edited by baskaraninfo on 04-02-2009 08:03 AM

Use Search. "Accept Solution" if the problem gets resolved.
Developer
Posts: 1,477
Registered: ‎12-30-2008
My Device: Torch 9810

Re: Does "Auto-run on startup" option need to be specified in BB device?

Start the application manually and check if it detects the incoming messages..

 

Thanks! 

--
Manimaran Selvan
Co-Founder, Tech Lead,
Equity Markets Research Group
Developer
Posts: 19,636
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Does "Auto-run on startup" option need to be specified in BB device?

And just to answer the original question, no there is nothing you need to do on the BlackBerry device itself to autostart the application.

 

I take it suto-start is working in the Simulator?  What JDE and Device levels are involved here?

Developer
Posts: 1,477
Registered: ‎12-30-2008
My Device: Torch 9810

Re: Does "Auto-run on startup" option need to be specified in BB device?

Developer
Posts: 342
Registered: ‎02-04-2009
My Device: BB 8320

Re: Does "Auto-run on startup" option need to be specified in BB device?

@peter_strange

 

BlackBerry Java Development Environment Version: 4.7.0.41

BlackBerry 9530 Simulator

BB Device Model: BB 8320


Use Search. "Accept Solution" if the problem gets resolved.
Developer
Posts: 342
Registered: ‎02-04-2009
My Device: BB 8320

Re: Does "Auto-run on startup" option need to be specified in BB device?

@mantaker

 

I have manually started the application. I have given a popup window as "Application started" initially using the following code:

 

UiEngine ui = Ui.getUiEngine();Screen screen = new Dialog(Dialog.D_OK, data, Dialog.OK, Bitmap.getPredefinedBitmap(Bitmap.EXCLAMATION), Manager.VERTICAL_SCROLL);ui.queueStatus(screen, 1, true);

 

But, its showing an empty white screen and disappearing after some time.

Is there anything with the way of showing popup message?

 

Is there any alternate way to do this?

 

Thanks 

 


Use Search. "Accept Solution" if the problem gets resolved.
Developer
Posts: 1,477
Registered: ‎12-30-2008
My Device: Torch 9810

Re: Does "Auto-run on startup" option need to be specified in BB device?

Well, Have you took a look in this KB article?

http://www.blackberry.com/knowledgecenterpublic/livelink.exe/fetch/2000/348583/796557/800738/800901/...

 

Set alternate entry point to ur application.. It seems it is the option for that application to show popup to the foreground!

 

Thanks.. 

--
Manimaran Selvan
Co-Founder, Tech Lead,
Equity Markets Research Group