Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Developer
My Device: Not Specified

Doubts in Using HTML Pages

In Android,there is a web view,in which HTML Page rendering is done based on the devices.

I am new to concept of displaying a web page in device.AnyIdeas about it will be helpful.

Hello Guys, i want to carry out HTML Page rendering in the device.How can it be done?

Regards

Rakesh Shankar.P

Developer

Re: Doubts in Using HTML Pages

Have you actually used the one on Android ? Displaying real web pages involves many steps, see my posts here or on webkit developers forum. If you control the content it is not hard but getting general browser to work is a bit more involved. I thought the latest browserfield would fix that but I'm running into many issues- the first being timing. Be prepared to chase 30x redirects yourself and on my old sim I found fatal timing problems - both seem to be due to unsafe or race conditions as you can step through code and see scheduling and spawning seem to be in wrong order.

So, the answer is it depends.

Developer

If you just have an HTML page to display, with no interaction to external data, then the processing is relatively straightforward.  In OS 5.0 and above you just invoke BrowserField, passing the HTML page in.  On older OS'es, it is more complicated because you need to simulate an http connection.  There is code on the forum that will help with this.

Let us know what you are trying to do and what OS you are targeting and we should e able to point you at some useful links. 

Developer

I dont have much of interaction to the data,just want display the HTML Pages.I just checked the browser field also which supports from 5.0 and above.But i want it to be supported from 4.3 above.So I am trying to find something related to it.

Regards

Rakesh Shankar.P