Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Highlighted
New Developer
My Device: Not Specified

Drop down list box

I am new to the blackerry development. I need to display a drop down list box of items. I have used "ObjectChoiceField" for this. Following is the code:

String [] choices = {"Option one", "Option two", "Option three"};
ObjectChoiceField o = new ObjectChoiceField("",choices,0,ObjectChoiceField.FIELD_HCENTER);

But, when this component appears, there is no conventional "down arrow" to indicate that it is a pull down menu. Can somebody, please guide so as to how should I have a pull down menu displayed.

The code works in the emulator, and using the space bar, I can even change the selected option from the list. But, as mentioned, this does not appear as a conventional pull down, so that the user understands that he would be able to select from this component.

Developer

Re: Drop down list box

BlackBerry user experience is same as objectchoicefield is behaving. If you are thinking from BB suer prespective, you can go with objectchoicefield; you need not to worry about it as BB user is having same experience.

Press the kudos button to thank the user who helped you.

If your problem was get solved then please mark the thread as "Accepted solution"

Deepesh Gupta
Developer

Just to confirm what Deepesh is saying, BlackBerry users will recognize the Drop Down List.  There is no Standard UI component that will give you a visual indicator that the drop download is a drop down list, except on the Storm, which does it automatically for the ObjectChoiceField among others.  You can create your own version of the Field if you wish to give a visual clue.
New Developer