Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
New Developer
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-11-2009
My Device: Curve 8900

Re: Eclipse + JDE Plugin + Linux = a working environment !!!!!!

4) after installed JDK, you need to insert your jdk path on wine, otherwise you can't run rapc.exe

 

im sure its probably quite simple but i cant figure out how i do this?

New Developer
New Developer
Posts: 151
Registered: ‎01-05-2010
My Device: dev alpha c (bb10)
My Carrier: www.rzr.online.fr

Re: Eclipse + JDE Plugin + Linux = a working environment !!!!!!

New Developer
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-07-2010
My Device: 8530

Re: Eclipse + JDE Plugin + Linux = a working environment !!!!!!

Buona Sera

Ho riutilizzato il tuo metodo con successo, come dimostrato dal screenshot. Con  questo trucco, possiamo usare tutto il nostro sistema di collaborazione Linux, dato che abbiamo sviluppato a Trieste (IT), Dobrovo (SL) e Comrat (MV).
Grazie davvero, e il vostro inglese è bello ,anzi magari e piu buono que il nostro italiano..


Mandi,Cvalalinuxbb

 

Giorgio Borgia,un italiano de marilangue non italiana Smiley Happy

 


New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-15-2010
My Device: Storm
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Eclipse + JDE Plugin + Linux = a working environment !!!!!!

nick_c, to insert your jdk path on wine:

 

edit ~/.wine/system.reg and find this line:

 

"PATH"=str(2):"C:\\Windows\\system32;C:\\Windows"

 

change to:

 

"PATH"=str(2):"C:\\Windows\\system32;C:\\Windows;C:\\Program Files\\Java\\jdk1.6.0_18\\bin"

 

Obviously, substitute whatever path is appropriate for your JDK version.

There might be another way, but this worked for me.

Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-12-2010
My Device: Curve 8900
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: Eclipse + JDE Plugin + Linux = a working environment !!!!!!

It was encouraging to see you got the development environment working on Linux - from a practical perspective, there were several changes I needed to make after copying the plugins over to the /usr/lib64/eclipse/plugins directory:

 

  1. Change the path separators in BlackBerry.ee before setting up the JRE - you cannot create projects without a BlackBerry JRE configured
  2. Had to execute 'ln -s RIMUsbJni.dll RimUsbJni.dll' in the plugins/net.rim.ejde.componentpack5.0.0_5.0.0.25/components/bin/ directory as the absence of the dll caused the config of the JRE to fail due to case sensitive file names
Regular Contributor
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎08-15-2010
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: T-Mobile Germany

RIM should make this marginal effort to support Linux.

If a RIM colleague should read this: show that you are interested in developers and make this marginal effort to pack the tools in a sutable way and write up the official Linux install guide. At the end of the day you will be competing with Android (Linux) and iPhone (BSD) so you should show that you respect UNIX bound community.
Contributor
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎09-06-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Eclipse + JDE Plugin + Linux = a working environment !!!!!!

[ Edited ]

Ok I got it workin almost by setting up the eclipse blackberry and jde plugin download. I install it in wine, and then copy the contents relating to rim and blackberry from the plugins directory. To the plugins directory in eclipse on my full linux side. Then I get stuck on

 

 

2) Had to execute 'ln -s RIMUsbJni.dll RimUsbJni.dll' in the plugins/net.rim.ejde.componentpack5.0.0_5.0.0.25/components/bin/ directory as the absence of the dll caused the config of the JRE to fail due to case sensitive file names

Contributor
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎09-06-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Eclipse + JDE Plugin + Linux = a working environment !!!!!!

[ Edited ]

Installing eclipse is not a problem.

 

Installing blackberry plugin,

1) I achieved this by installing eclipse jde plugin pack on wine.

  I then copied the directory and jars needed to the corresponding directory in linux.

 

2) Install blackberry through website update.

 

All environment variables are set in wine.

Winetricks has also been done.

 

Next phase,

I edit all the .rc files changing \   to   /.

Including blackberry.ee

 

Later I make the link change for RIMUsb....dll file.

 

But no matter what I get.

“Blackberry preprocessor is being configured”. eclipse needs to restart.

This happens after I setup a class file on the project.

 

 

 

 

Contributor
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎09-06-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Eclipse + JDE Plugin + Linux = a working environment !!!!!!

Gave up, after spending too much of life trying going with netbeans instead, wish I had found this sooner

http://plugins.netbeans.org/PluginPortal/faces/PluginDetailPage.jsp?pluginid=11194

New Developer
New Developer
Posts: 151
Registered: ‎01-05-2010
My Device: dev alpha c (bb10)
My Carrier: www.rzr.online.fr

Re: Eclipse + JDE Plugin + Linux = a working environment !!!!!!