Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-14-2013
My Device: BlackBerry 9320
My Carrier: BIS

Enable any available wifi ssid in BlackBerry

[ Edited ]

Is there any API to enable available wifi network on a BlackBerry device?

Developer
Posts: 17,012
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: Enable any available wifi ssid in BlackBerry

welcome to the support forums.

you can use http://www.blackberry.com/developers/docs/7.1.0api/net/rim/device/api/system/Radio.html#activateWAFs... to enable wifi.
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-14-2013
My Device: BlackBerry 9320
My Carrier: BIS

Re: Enable any available wifi ssid in BlackBerry

Those methods will enable only the WAFs...

 

My question was is there any api to enable/disbale indivisual available wifi network(SSIDs) in blackberry...

 

for example if there are 3 avaialable wifi networks with SSID test1, test2, test3 in my device, is there any api to connect or enable wifi SSID 'test1' in blackberry.....

Developer
Posts: 17,012
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: Enable any available wifi ssid in BlackBerry

no. you have some additional functionality in http://www.blackberry.com/developers/docs/7.1.0api/net/rim/device/api/wlan/hotspot/HotspotClientRegi... but i don't think it offers exactly what you want.
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-14-2013
My Device: BlackBerry 9320
My Carrier: BIS

Re: Enable any available wifi ssid in BlackBerry

So do you mean there is no way to enable/connect to any particular wifi ssid in blackberry..?

Developer
Posts: 17,012
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: Enable any available wifi ssid in BlackBerry

correct
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter