Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

New Developer
My Device: Various
My Carrier: Various
Accepted Solution

Error starting Foo: Class 'net.rim.device.api.system.WLANListener' not found

I'm new to Blackberry development and have come across something I don't understand. I have an application that I have been working on it supports Blackberry OS 5 to 7.1 and works on them all apart from OS 6. For some strange reason I get:

Error starting Foo: Class 'net.rim.device.api.system.WLANListener' not found

on Blackberry OS 6 only! There is no OS specific code (as far as I know). This is after I have cleaned both code and Simulator (using Eclipse) and signed the code. Most of the time the application refuses to install on the OS 6 device - of course, it works perfectly fine on other OS versions. What could be causing this?

Debug in simulator is showing -

AM: Error starting Foo: Class 'net.rim.device.api.system.WLANListener' not found.

[0.0] VM:LINK Foo

[0.0] Class 'net.rim.device.api.system.WLANListener' not found.

[0.0] [0.0] Linker error: 'VerifyError' for Foo

[0.0] VM:CLRCv=0 [0.0]

I did try to implement something very simple that also used WLANListener and it appeared to work (or at least not error).

Developer
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Error starting Foo: Class 'net.rim.device.api.system.WLANListener' not found

This is unusual.  I take it you are compiling the code in OS 5.0 and using it in the later level Simulators?

Just a quick question. Why are you using LANListener.  it doesn't actually give yo anything does it.  Yo ureally want to implement WLANConnectionListener instead. 

New Developer

Re: Error starting Foo: Class 'net.rim.device.api.system.WLANListener' not found