Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Developer
Posts: 229
Registered: ‎11-21-2009
My Device: Not Specified

FlashControl - another great adventure...

Ok,

 

What's the great secret with FlashControl?

 

I simply want to turn on and off the Flash at will...you would think this would be easy considering the API is straight forward...but I have a Storm2 and so far - no flash...

 

setMode to Force works...

isFlashReady says yes

getMode==Force says true

 

No flash....

 

Anybody have a working example of this?

 

Anybody know why this simple API would not be working?

 

Any help, suggestions (or sympathy) - is appreciated...thanks in advance...

Developer
Posts: 229
Registered: ‎11-21-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: FlashControl - another great adventure...

 

Anybody else been able to get this to work?

Developer
Posts: 1,807
Registered: ‎04-28-2009
My Device: Z10 (STL100-4)-10.3.2.858, Z10 (STL100-3)-10.3.1.2576, Z30 (STA100-5)-10.3.1.2582, Passport (SQW100-1)-10.3.1.2576, PlayBook (16GB)-2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: FlashControl - another great adventure...

Never tried it. I don't know what the rules are with JSRs but I think you need to have the whole JSR exposed but don't need to implement it.

---Spends time in #blackberrydev on freenode (IRC)----
Three simple rules:
1. Please use the search bar before making new posts.
2. "Like" posts that you find helpful.
3. If a solution has been found for your post, mark it as solved.
--I code too much. Well, too bad.
Developer
Posts: 229
Registered: ‎11-21-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: FlashControl - another great adventure...

Can you elaborate what you mean by this?

 

I'm not sure I follow you...

Highlighted
Super Contributor
Posts: 253
Registered: ‎08-19-2010
My Device: BB10, Playbook, 9900, 9800, 9700, 9550, 9530, 9500, 8700.
My Carrier: TT

Re: FlashControl - another great adventure...

I am trying to turn on Flashcontrol, but it will make my program become hang up.

>>??

-Fight with BB10