Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Developer
Posts: 132
Registered: ‎05-07-2009
My Device: Curve
My Carrier: Vodafone

Get "+" character programmatically

Hi Experts,

 

I have 2 BasicEditFields, one below the other

 

The upper one is nonfocusable, and the bottom one is focusable

 

bottom one is used for searching the contacts, and while searching if i am pressing a numeric key the upper basiceditfield is displaying the number pressed for that key.

 

Now i want to also add "+" character to the upper field when i will press the "0" button (ie keep it pressed)

 

How can i get  + character programmatically?

Sameer Joshi
Blackberry developer.
Developer
Posts: 516
Registered: ‎07-23-2010
My Device: 9900

Re: Get "+" character programmatically

BasicEditField.setText(BasicEditField.getText() + '+' );

Developer
Posts: 132
Registered: ‎05-07-2009
My Device: Curve
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Get "+" character programmatically

No .... i am saying if i keep "0" key pressed i get "+" ... how to achieve that....

Sameer Joshi
Blackberry developer.
Developer
Posts: 516
Registered: ‎07-23-2010
My Device: 9900

Re: Get "+" character programmatically

override the 

protected boolean keyRepeat(int keycode,
                            int time)
Developer
Posts: 132
Registered: ‎05-07-2009
My Device: Curve
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Get "+" character programmatically

it is not returning the "+" key Smiley Sad

Sameer Joshi
Blackberry developer.
Developer
Posts: 516
Registered: ‎07-23-2010
My Device: 9900

Re: Get "+" character programmatically

is it returning the '0' key?

Developer
Posts: 132
Registered: ‎05-07-2009
My Device: Curve
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Get "+" character programmatically

keyrepeat is not called when we press 0 key... and also it is not called when we keep it pressed and release it.....

Sameer Joshi
Blackberry developer.
Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 516
Registered: ‎07-23-2010
My Device: 9900

Re: Get "+" character programmatically

Try using the keyup and keydown function. Save the time from the keydown if the key is 0 and compare it with the time of the keyup function if the key is 0. If the time you compared is the waiting time you want then add the + to the field.

Developer
Posts: 723
Registered: ‎03-12-2009
My Device: Playbook

Re: Get "+" character programmatically

Override keyChar method and replace '0' with '+' before passing to super.keyChar... (Should work, never tested)

 

If you want to do some more complex filtering, create an implementation of TextFilter class and do you conversions inside implementation of "convert" function.