Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Developer
Posts: 490
Registered: ‎07-16-2008
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Hide and Show keyboard menu on Storm

Hi guys'

 

My application works fine on BB storm(9530) simulator. But on real device (BB Storm 9530), I can't get the keyboard out of the way to view stats.

On the simulator, I can show keyboard using Show keyboard and Hide Keyboard menus. 

 

Actually I don't know what reason have for it.

 

Do you have a suggestion ? Maybe have options on BB.

Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 432
Registered: ‎02-23-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Hide and Show keyboard menu on Storm

You can use net.rim.device.api.ui.Screen.getVirtualKeyboard() or setVisbility(int) and getVisibility() methods of net.rim.device.api.ui.VirtualKeyboard class to set visibility of Key Board

 


Press the kudos button to thank the user who helped you.

If your problem was get solved then please mark the thread as "Accepted solution".

 

 

 

 

Deepesh Gupta
Developer
Posts: 490
Registered: ‎07-16-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Hide and Show keyboard menu on Storm

Thanks Deepesh.

 

How can I use these methods ? Do you have sample source.

 

I would like to set Show/Hide keyboard menu on all MainScreen of my application by default.

Developer
Posts: 293
Registered: ‎02-25-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Hide and Show keyboard menu on Storm

Hi,

 

If you are using MainScreen , The Hide/Show Keyboard option already exists in the default menu. You dont need to code for that.

Developer
Posts: 490
Registered: ‎07-16-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Hide and Show keyboard menu on Storm

[ Edited ]

Thanks for your response.

 

Yes, I am using MainScreen class. 

I've tested my application on the simulator for BB Storm. It is OK and no prob.

 

But there is no Show/Hide menu, when the application works on real BB device (Storm). 

 

Is it possible for real device ? I don't know what reason.

 

Maybe have a option such as option-> applications -> ....., 

 

Do you know any option ?

 

Thanks guys.

Message Edited by Raiden on 03-16-2009 03:54 AM
Developer
Posts: 4,764
Registered: ‎07-21-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Hide and Show keyboard menu on Storm

Is there a blue border around your screen? Sounds like you are in compatibility mode.

 

Was the application compiled under 4.7?

 

Developer
Posts: 490
Registered: ‎07-16-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Hide and Show keyboard menu on Storm

Actually, I haven't test on the real device. My friend has tested.

 

He said that : I had disabled compatibility mode by follow steps : options-> applications->"Application" -> menu -> chose "Disable compatibility mode".

Then started the application, "Show/Hide keyboard" menu hasn't seen.

 

Is it possible on real device ? 

 

Thanks.

Developer
Posts: 293
Registered: ‎02-25-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Hide and Show keyboard menu on Storm

if you are using MainScreen , surely there will be an option to show/hide vitual keyboard on the device as well as simulator.
Developer
Posts: 490
Registered: ‎07-16-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Hide and Show keyboard menu on Storm

Ok. Thanks man' I got it'

 

Developer
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎01-12-2009
My Device: Blackberry Storm, Curve, Tour
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Hide and Show keyboard menu on Storm

Thanks RexDoug for asking about a blue border around the window. That gave me the exact clue I needed to know about the compatibity mode. And of course to Raiden for asking the question in a way I could easily find this post....

 Thanks,

 Ken Kelly

Ken J Kelly