Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Developer
Posts: 146
Registered: ‎07-24-2008
My Device: none
My Carrier: none

How to Hide Menu

Hi All

I have implemented one video player which plays streaming data. My problem is when this video player is launched and the buffering is being done , if user presses Menu key it displays the Menu. Once the buffering is done this menu get hidden and video start displaying. Once the video playback is completed this menu reappears on top of the screen. I want to to hide this menu.

 

Is there a way to hide this menu completely.

 

Thanks

Ankit

Thanks & Regards,
Ankit Dubey
Module Lead Software Engineer, mLabs
Impetus InfoTech (India) Pvt. Ltd.
Developer
Posts: 17,025
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: How to Hide Menu

if it is your own screen you can overwrite makemenu to control (or disable) the menu

----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Developer
Posts: 146
Registered: ‎07-24-2008
My Device: none
My Carrier: none

Re: How to Hide Menu

Hi

I do not want to disable the menu completely, i just want it to disable for that time period while the bufferringis being done. Once the video play is started ,i need the menu.

Any suggession.

 

Thanks

Ankit

Thanks & Regards,
Ankit Dubey
Module Lead Software Engineer, mLabs
Impetus InfoTech (India) Pvt. Ltd.
Developer
Posts: 17,025
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: How to Hide Menu

well, you can easily put any condition you want into the make menu method

----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Developer
Posts: 146
Registered: ‎07-24-2008
My Device: none
My Carrier: none

Re: How to Hide Menu

Hi

I think makemenu is get called when user presses Menu key.

In my case this method is already called and the menu is visible. I want to hide this menu using some API call.

 

Thanks

Ankit

Thanks & Regards,
Ankit Dubey
Module Lead Software Engineer, mLabs
Impetus InfoTech (India) Pvt. Ltd.
Developer
Posts: 17,025
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: How to Hide Menu

http://www.blackberry.com/developers/docs/5.0.0api/net/rim/device/api/ui/component/Menu.html#close()

save the reference to the displayed menu and call close on it.

----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Developer
Posts: 2,268
Registered: ‎07-08-2009
My Device: various
My Carrier: various

Re: How to Hide Menu

Even if you don't have the reference, you can find it by getScreenAbove() - a menu is a subclass of a PopupScreen, which can be popped from the stack just like any other Screen.

 

----------------------------------------------------------
please click 'Accept Solution' on posts that provide the solution to the question you've posted. Don't say "Thanks", press 'Like' button instead!