Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 455
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
My Device: Apple iPhone 3GS 16GB
Accepted Solution

How to detect whether Bis-B is through carrier or Wi-Fi programatically

How do we programatically detect whether the BIS data traffic is routed through the carrier network or Wi-Fi. Looking at the BB logo dots, we can see that it will be near Wi-Fi indicator if data is routed through Wi-Fi, and near the carrier signal indicator if the data is routed through the carrier data network.

Is there a way to detect that programatically?

Developer
Posts: 17,025
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: How to detect whether Bis-B is through carrier or Wi-Fi programatically

http://www.blackberry.com/developers/docs/7.1.0api/net/rim/device/api/system/CoverageInfo.html#isCov... used with some different parameters should give this info
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Developer
Posts: 455
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
My Device: Apple iPhone 3GS 16GB

Re: How to detect whether Bis-B is through carrier or Wi-Fi programatically

Ok. that should help. I have already disabled wifi by setting it as disallowed transport type in connection factory. But still bis goes through wifi. I thought disabling it means the traffic will never go through wifi ,

 

is there any way to not use wifi for bis?

Developer
Posts: 17,025
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: How to detect whether Bis-B is through carrier or Wi-Fi programatically

bis_b is an own transport, it automatically selects the available route
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Developer
Posts: 455
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
My Device: Apple iPhone 3GS 16GB

Re: How to detect whether Bis-B is through carrier or Wi-Fi programatically

Yes and that is the problem, I don't want it to select wifi basically. Looks like the only way is to turn off wifi radio programatically then . Any thine else you can think of Simon?
Developer
Posts: 17,025
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: How to detect whether Bis-B is through carrier or Wi-Fi programatically

no, i don't know a way to influence the transport, so i would guess disabling wifi would be the only solution.
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Developer
Posts: 455
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
My Device: Apple iPhone 3GS 16GB

Re: How to detect whether Bis-B is through carrier or Wi-Fi programatically

Thanks simon