Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 1,474
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: How to include dynamic information in the .cod?

In this case, try appending your license key as a "signature" to the module. See my earlier post for details.

New Developer
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎07-11-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: How to include dynamic information in the .cod?

Will try that. This is new territory for me though. How does this signature coexist with the already existing signature for the signed cod?

 

Developer
Posts: 1,474
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: How to include dynamic information in the .cod?

[ Edited ]

All signatures are appended to the end of the module. You can freely append one more -- this won't overwrite or remove the previously appended signatures (those obtained via the Signature Tool). Also, since your signature will use a non-standard signer ID, the OS will not be automatically verifying it against the contents of the module.

New Developer
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎07-11-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: How to include dynamic information in the .cod?

Cool! That seems to be the solution then. Thanks a lot!

 

Ps. I mark your first post as the accepted solution.

Developer
Posts: 1,474
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: How to include dynamic information in the .cod?

I suggest you first confirm that it works for you.

New Developer
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-18-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: How to include dynamic information in the .cod?

The solution worked for me. But only 128 Byte signatures worked. If more data is needed you have to divide it into more signatures.

Developer
Posts: 1,474
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: How to include dynamic information in the .cod?

Interesting! Have you tried modifying the value of the "signature length" byte?

New Developer
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-18-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: How to include dynamic information in the .cod?

Yes I did, signature was ok in the signature tool. But on the device the returned certificate was equal null.