Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Developer
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎01-05-2010
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

How to install 9000 simulator into JDE for Eclipse?

The JDE for Eclipse 1.1 (gold) doesn't seem to ship with the 9000 simulator.

 

I have a reported display issue on a 9000 device so would like to test the application in this specific simulator.

 

If I use the eclipse update site and select a different component pack (eg 4.7.0) and select next, I get an error:

 

Cannot complete the install because one or more required items could not be found.
  
Software being installed: 
BlackBerry Component Pack 4.7.0 4.7.0.46 (net.rim.eide.feature.componentpack4.7.0.feature.group 4.7.0.46)  

Missing requirement: 
BlackBerry JDE Plug-in for Eclipse 1.0.0.67 (net.rim.eide 1.0.0.67) requires 'bundle org.eclipse.jdt.core [3.4.0,3.5.0)' but it could not be found  

Cannot satisfy dependency:    
From: BlackBerry JDE Component Package 4.7.0 4.7.0.46 (net.rim.eide.componentpack4.7.0 4.7.0.46)    
To: bundle net.rim.eide 0.0.0  

Cannot satisfy dependency:    
From: BlackBerry Component Pack 4.7.0 4.7.0.46 (net.rim.eide.feature.componentpack4.7.0.feature.group 4.7.0.46)    
To: net.rim.eide.componentpack4.7.0 [4.7.0.46]

It wants the old version of JDE for Eclipse.  Do I have to maintain a separate install (and therefore separate project) for 4.7.0 component pack support?

 

I have found BlackBerry_Simulators_5.0.0.411_9000.exe available for download but how can I install this so it's usable in eclipse?  Do I just install it into the correct folder and it will all magically work? (after working out what the correct folder is ofc).

 

Or is it just not possible and I should just run the 9000 simulator outside of any debugger?

 

Developer
Posts: 157
Registered: ‎05-10-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: How to install 9000 simulator into JDE for Eclipse?

You can skip Eclipse and just download the simulator.  After the download, install.  Then go to program files, Research In Motion and select the simulator and it will start.  Then in the simulator, go to 'file' and load java program and then browse to your cod files and it will install the app into the downloads folder.  Then you can test.

Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎01-05-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: How to install 9000 simulator into JDE for Eclipse?

Yes I realise I can do that, but I want to debug with eclipse not just run the code.

 

Can I connect eclipse to that running instance?

Developer
Posts: 157
Registered: ‎05-10-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: How to install 9000 simulator into JDE for Eclipse?

I've not tried. but if you are running that simulator with your app and have Eclipse open. Try debug, on that running sumulator:  Click the drop down on the little green play button and choose 'run as' and choose the running simulator.

 

Developer
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎01-05-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: How to install 9000 simulator into JDE for Eclipse?

Ok, that works, thanks.

Developer
Posts: 157
Registered: ‎05-10-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: How to install 9000 simulator into JDE for Eclipse?

You are very welcome.Smiley Very Happy