Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Developer
Posts: 73
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Http connection using BIS/BES.

Hello Everone,

 

First of all sorry, if the subject is not making much sense. But was so confused what to right in there.

Here is the problem which I am facing.

 

In the application which I was developing, I am using an HTTP connection. Now my question: Is there any way I can forcefully ask my application to use a particular way of making that connection. I mean, can I choose between BIS or BES to establish that connection?

 

In short, I want to choose the type of connection prgramatically. Please guide me to the proper way.

 

 

Thanks,

- Rohan

Developer
Posts: 19,636
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Http connection using BIS/BES.

There are a number of Threads in the forum that cover similar ground.  I would review the following material, then search around here and in the KnowledgeBase for any clarification that you require.

 

What Is - Different ways to make an HTTP or socket connection
DB-00396
http://tinyurl.com/3ynfr5

or

http://www.blackberry.com/knowledgecenterpublic/livelink.exe/fetch/2000/348583/800451/800563/What_Is...

 

Managing Wireless Data Transport on BlackBerry 4 - Part 1

http://www.blackberry.com/knowledgecenterpublic/livelink.exe?func=ll&objId=832210&objAction=browse&s...

 

Network Transports video:

http://na.blackberry.com/eng/developers/resources/videolibrary.jsp#tab_ddetail_subtab_jde

 

Developer
Posts: 73
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Http connection using BIS/BES.

Hi Peter,

 

Thanks for the prompt reply. I have searched a lot on this forum regarding this issue. I have come across many threads and I have found the same links which you have provided in many of them. After going through them, when I coudlnt find proper solution, I started this thread.

 

Thanks Again,

- Rohan

Developer
Posts: 73
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Http connection using BIS/BES.

[ Edited ]

Hello Everyone,

 

After lotta searching and reding regarding this issue of BIS, the conclusion is that we cannot use BIS for connecting our application to the Internet as is. BIS requires that we go through BlackBerry ISV Alliance Program.

 

I just wanted to share this info with others if anyone is having the same problem. And please do correct me if my conclusion is wrong here.

 

Thanks,

- Rohan 

Message Edited by Doctor on 09-23-2008 05:19 PM
Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 170
Registered: ‎01-17-2009
My Device: 9630

Re: Http connection using BIS/BES.


Doctor wrote:

Hello Everyone,

 

After lotta searching and reding regarding this issue of BIS, the conclusion is that we cannot use BIS for connecting our application to the Internet as is. BIS requires that we go through BlackBerry ISV Alliance Program.

 

I just wanted to share this info with others if anyone is having the same problem. And please do correct me if my conclusion is wrong here.

 

Thanks,

- Rohan 

Message Edited by Doctor on 09-23-2008 05:19 PM

Right, and it costs at least $2,000 a year to become an alliance member that can use BIS connections. Even after you have become an alliance partner you have to submit your application and it needs to be approved for BIS.