Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Developer
Posts: 242
Registered: ‎02-19-2013
My Device: 9500
My Carrier: _

MapView and set the location

I want to open the mapview and set the home location on map. Once user set the home location just by click then i need to get that location detail like address and latitude and longitude.

 

How can i achieve this.

 

Please help me for this.

Developer
Posts: 17,026
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: MapView and set the location

use
http://www.blackberry.com/developers/docs/7.1.0api/net/rim/blackberry/api/maps/MapView.html#setLatit...
http://www.blackberry.com/developers/docs/7.1.0api/net/rim/blackberry/api/maps/MapView.html#setLongi...
i guess, get the values from http://www.blackberry.com/developers/docs/7.1.0api/net/rim/device/api/gps/BlackBerryLocationProvider...
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Developer
Posts: 242
Registered: ‎02-19-2013
My Device: 9500
My Carrier: _

Re: MapView and set the location

[ Edited ]

I like to open the map once user click on a button then get the location detail from it. Once user click on location then pop that screen.

 

Can you give the link for it to open the map.

Developer
Posts: 17,026
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: MapView and set the location

for that you would need to use the newer MapView i think, maybe http://www.blackberry.com/developers/docs/7.1.0api/net/rim/device/api/lbs/maps/ui/MapField.html#getS...
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Developer
Posts: 242
Registered: ‎02-19-2013
My Device: 9500
My Carrier: _

Re: MapView and set the location

i liked your anwer but i want to this from 4.7+. How can i achieve in this.

Developer
Posts: 17,026
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: MapView and set the location

the old map view does not offer this functionality, so i don't know how you could do it, not my area of expertise unfortunately.
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 242
Registered: ‎02-19-2013
My Device: 9500
My Carrier: _

Re: MapView and set the location

Can you tell me I am using the mapfield but when i want to drag to different location using finger gesture then its not moving and zooming also.