Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Contributor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎03-30-2011
My Device: Several Simulators
My Carrier: none - simulator only

Maximum midlet size to install

HI,

 

We provide our application as a midlet for older BB devices (< OS 5). The application is larger than 256 KB. Now if a user tries to download it, he gets 413 Entity too large. I know, the BES setting "Maximum KB/Connection" can be set to a higher value, but we must tell this every customer. Is there any chance to somehow split the midlet or another solution to get around the 256 KB limit?

 

Thanks

Dinakel

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,885
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Maximum midlet size to install

There is a solution, and it's right here:

 

The file size limit for wireless downloads

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Highlighted
Contributor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎03-30-2011
My Device: Several Simulators
My Carrier: none - simulator only

Re: Maximum midlet size to install

I don't see how this article solves my problem with installing a java MIDLET which exceeds the maximum size. I have a jar and a jad file not a COD file. And I see no chance in splitting the jar.

Developer
Posts: 543
Registered: ‎12-23-2010
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: Maximum midlet size to install

How and in which environment you are making the build?.

Because afaik COD file is must to install the app.

 

 

Thanks.

Contributor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎03-30-2011
My Device: Several Simulators
My Carrier: none - simulator only

Re: Maximum midlet size to install

It is done in Eclipse via Maven.

For old BB devices we provide a java midlet, which we also provide for JavaME devices. BB devices run normal midlets, you don't need a cod file.The project we build is not a BB project, but a standard javaME project. The BB SDK isn't even installed on the machine.

For more recent BB devices (OS 5+) we also provide a BB app (COD file), and the article above probably works in that case. But I need a solution for midlets.

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,885
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Maximum midlet size to install

You can compile MIDlets into COD files and that will resolve this issue.  The device can convert a JAR file into a COD file once downloaded, but it appears that this JAR file is too large.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.