Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
New Developer
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎10-21-2008
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Method to get device ID

Hi experts,

Can you kindly mention the method by which I can get the BB device ID using J2ME.

 

Developer
Posts: 3,951
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Method to get device ID

DeviceInfo class?

Use Search. "Accept Solution" If the problem is resolved.
Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 326
Registered: ‎02-02-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Method to get device ID

net.rim.device.api.system.DeviceInfo

DeviceInfo.getDeviceId();

 

Developer
Posts: 1,477
Registered: ‎12-30-2008
My Device: Torch 9810

Re: Method to get device ID

It can't be retrieved using any J2ME classes.. DeviceInfo is the only solution which is RIM's API

 

Thanks! 

--
Manimaran Selvan
Co-Founder, Tech Lead,
Equity Markets Research Group
Developer
Posts: 3,951
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Method to get device ID

If you are looking to get the DeviceID of a BB device using a MIDlet, you can import the DeviceInfo class and get the device id.

 

 

 


Use Search. "Accept Solution" If the problem is resolved.
New Developer
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎10-21-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Method to get device ID

Thanks to one and all for your extremely valuable help and suggestions.

 

Warm Regards,

Anees

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-23-2010
My Device: 9700
My Carrier: RIM

Re: Method to get device ID

New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-19-2010
My Device: Not Specified
My Carrier: Blackberry-Software Developer

Re: Method to get device ID

Is it possible to change the device ID for an simulator?

Developer
Posts: 19,636
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Method to get device ID

Yes the method vary depending on your tooling, but if you look at the command line used when you start the SImulator, you will see something like 

/pin=

which you can change. 

New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-19-2010
My Device: Not Specified
My Carrier: Blackberry-Software Developer

Re: Method to get device ID

can you please elaborate it...i coudn't get you....