Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Highlighted
New Developer
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-11-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Network Connectivity BlackBerry Simulator

Hi,

 

I am trying to get the BlackBerry Simulator connected so I can access sites via the Browser since I will be testing an application that requires a network connection.

 

I have read the previous posts that state MDS must be checked off under properties and to assure it's running by running it manually from C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry JDE 4.7.0\MDS. I have done both of these and also confirmed that all connections were enabled on the simulator however it does not seem to connect.

 

The 1xev in the upper right corner is small which I assume means no data connection, and the 3g is a small g as well. Does anyone have any suggestions or ideas to get my simulator connected to the network?

 

 

 

Thanks,

Luke

Developer
Posts: 3,951
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Network Connectivity BlackBerry Simulator

Does the MDS window remains or got closed after few seconds.

 

Check this KB article.

 

http://www.blackberry.com/knowledgecenterpublic/livelink.exe/fetch/2000/348583/800792/801079/Support...


Use Search. "Accept Solution" If the problem is resolved.
New Developer
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-11-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Network Connectivity BlackBerry Simulator

[ Edited ]

Thanks, the MDS window closes after a second or so.

 

I take it I have the wrong version of Java installed?

 

java -showversion returns the following:

java version "1.5.0_17"
Java(TM) 2 Runtime Environment, Standard Edition (build 1.5.0_17-b04)
Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 1.5.0_17-b04, mixed mode, sharing)

  

This is the message I get when I run the shutdown command after I ran the run command from within the MDS folder.

 

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: Bad version number in .class file
        at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
        at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
        at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
        at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
        at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$100(Unknown Source)
        at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(Unknown Source)
        at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
        at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)
        at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
        at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
        at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
        at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClassInternal(Unknown Source)

 

 

 

Message Edited by lucasj on 03-17-2009 11:38 AM
Developer
Posts: 4,764
Registered: ‎07-21-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Network Connectivity BlackBerry Simulator

Make sure that you are running the MDS that ships with 4.7 - not the older version that works on 4.6 and older.

 

New Developer
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-11-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Network Connectivity BlackBerry Simulator

I have run it manually from C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry JDE 4.7.0\MDS and from the start menu as well (MDS-CS). Is the version information for Java in my last post ok?
BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,700
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Network Connectivity BlackBerry Simulator

Version 4.7.0 of the BlackBerry JDE requires JDK version 1.6.  Upgrade your JDK and modify your PATH and JAVA_HOME environments to point to the new JDK.
Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
New Developer
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-11-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Network Connectivity BlackBerry Simulator

Thanks MSohm.

 

I removed all instances of Java, and installed JDK 1.6 as you suggested.


"java -version" now displays the following:

java version "1.6.0_12"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_12-b04)
Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 11.2-b01, mixed mode, sharing)

 

I updated the PATH variable to C:\Program Files\Java\jdk1.6.0_12\bin, and I updated JAVA_HOME to C:\Program Files\Java\jdk1.6.0_12. Is this correct?

 

The MDS window now stays open but when I run the 9530 Simulator I still have the same issues. I click on Browser and get the following message:

 

"Unable to connect to the select Mobile Data Service, please try again later." - is there a config item I have missed?

 

 

 

Thanks,

Luke

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,700
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Network Connectivity BlackBerry Simulator

Run the clean.bat file located in the simulator directory.  This will reset the BlackBerry Simulator to its default state.

 

If you continue to receive this error verify that the BlackBerry Simulator and MDS Simulator are not being blocked by any local firewalls (they communicate with each other using a local socket connection).

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker