Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
New Developer
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎11-26-2008
My Device: Not Specified

New field in Address Book

Hi,

I am relatively new to BB development and was wondering if there was any way to add new fields to contacts in the Address Book?

The Yahoo! Messenger application appers to add a new field, but is this a special case?

 

Also does anyone know how to add the "seperator" lines when adding a new menu item to an BB application menu, e.g. Address menu?

 

And as a further question; is there a way to add the new menu item to the "reduced" menu list? Yahoo! Messenger appears to do this as well.

 

Many thanks,

 

Dave

Developer
Posts: 17,025
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: New field in Address Book

if you partner up with rim, yes. otherwise: no
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
New Developer
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎11-26-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: New field in Address Book

OK, great, thanks for the info.

 

So is there a corporate partner program in RIM?

 

Dave

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,884
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV
My Carrier: Bell

Re: New field in Address Book

Yahoo! Messenger was written by RIM and makes use of internal APIs.  It is not possible for a third party application to add custom fields to contacts.  Nor it is possible for third party applications to add an ApplicationMenuItem to the reduced menu of system applications.  You can add MenuItems to the reduced menu of your own application.  This link explains further.

 

How To - Distinguish between a full menu and a primary actions menu
Article Number: DB-00565

http://www.blackberry.com/knowledgecenterpublic/livelink.exe/fetch/2000/348583/800332/800505/800608/...

 

This link shows how to add a separater to a menu.

 

How To - Add Copy, Paste, and other context-specific items to a menu
Article Number: DB-00125

http://www.blackberry.com/knowledgecenterpublic/livelink.exe/fetch/2000/348583/800332/800505/800608/...

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.