Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

New Developer
My Device: Not Specified

New to Blackberry Programming - Forgive Broad Questions

I am new to programming for the Blackberry platform and have a program that I would like to make my test/first program

General description...

• Application will have say 2 - 48 items with say 20 fields/pieces of information per item
  • User will enter information in the 20 some odd fields per item
  • When complete, user will attempt to send information to an email address or server for use by others
  • in case of power down or other problem, information should be saved on blackberry device to return after problem is resolved or information is forwarded to email or server

General questions are...

• can or should the local information be in some sort of database on blackberry device
  • is there a free database that runs on blackberry device / what is the desktop counterpart
  • if not is there a way to save info in a temp file until it can be forwarded to off device location
  • is there a way to connect to a server that cannot be exposed to the general internet, limited currently by IT department. Assume that server cannot have specific outside IP or port forward on router  

This is a good start for general information.

To anybody that is willing to address my general questions and help me understand, Thanks in advace!!!

Developer
My Device: ***
My Carrier: ***

Re: New to Blackberry Programming - Forgive Broad Questions

[ Edited ]

can or should the local information be in some sort of database on blackberry device

is there a free database that runs on blackberry device / what is the desktop counterpart