Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Developer
Posts: 324
Registered: ‎03-10-2010
My Device: Bold 9780, DevAlpha
My Carrier: Vodafone CZ
Accepted Solution

OS5.0/6.0 Problem detecting coverage status in 2G networks

if(CoverageInfo.isCoverageSufficient(CoverageInfo.COVERAGE_MDS)){
                return true;
        }else{
                return false;
}

 

This code works perfectly ... if you in 3G mode (or WiFi connected). But if you in 2G (EDGE or GPRS) it does not work.

 

What is it? Once more bug from RIM or i've miss something?

Developer
Posts: 324
Registered: ‎03-10-2010
My Device: Bold 9780, DevAlpha
My Carrier: Vodafone CZ

Re: OS5.0/6.0 Problem detecting coverage status in 2G networks

[ Edited ]

Looks like a bug Smiley Sad

 

isCoverageSufficient returns false, but MDS is available.

 

If i've switch device in 3G mode isCoverageSufficient returns true.

Developer
Posts: 324
Registered: ‎03-10-2010
My Device: Bold 9780, DevAlpha
My Carrier: Vodafone CZ

Re: OS5.0/6.0 Problem detecting coverage status in 2G networks

bump!

Developer
Posts: 324
Registered: ‎03-10-2010
My Device: Bold 9780, DevAlpha
My Carrier: Vodafone CZ

Re: OS5.0/6.0 Problem detecting coverage status in 2G networks

...so.. is anybody knows - how to detect BIS/MDS coverage status in 2G mode?

 

how to detect 2G mode?

Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎12-16-2010
My Device: 9700
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: OS5.0/6.0 Problem detecting coverage status in 2G networks

Don't have answer but here I have problems also about  retreiving coverage status in 2G/2,5G Networks( in both EDGE and GPRS) . Is it a common issue then?

Developer
Posts: 324
Registered: ‎03-10-2010
My Device: Bold 9780, DevAlpha
My Carrier: Vodafone CZ

Re: OS5.0/6.0 Problem detecting coverage status in 2G networks

@albertpv, found solution:

 

use CoverageInfo.isCoverageSufficient with CoverageInfo.getCoverageStatus to get required result.

 

As I've tested isCoverageSufficient works in WiFi/3G/CDMA networks, but does not in 2G.

... getCoverageStatus works in 2G networks.

 

So, just test it BOTH.

Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎12-10-2009
My Device: styile 9670
My Carrier: SingTel

Re: OS5.0/6.0 Problem detecting coverage status in 2G networks

@peter strage

do we able to create udp connection using BIS-B internet service..
also , our application is streaming based application ..so can you suggest me what could be happen..

we are planning to join blackberry alliance membership program..please advice me
Mobile Application Advisor