Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Developer
Posts: 638
Registered: ‎07-02-2009
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

One Set of Keys on Multiple Machines?

 

Hi all,

 

RIM code siginig keys are installed at my clients machine. I want to use the same set of keys, to test the app on device. I got the .db, .csk and .set files from clients machine. I imported the keys using eclipse editor also. But when I try to sign the cod file, it is asking for private key password.

 

Actually there is no private key password. Smiley Sad

 

How can I use them??

 

while I googled I found the following info.

 

source: http://berrytutorials.blogspot.com/2009/10/code-signing-setting-up-eclipse-to-use.html

 

One Set of Keys on Multiple Machines?


Once you install the keys on your box you cannot move them to another machine without going through RIM support and requesting new keys. As I understand it, this process invalidates your original keys. The bottom line is that you cannot use one set of keys across multiple machines so chose the box where you install the keys wisely.

 

 

Is this info has any justification from RIM? Can I expect any KBArticles or documentation from RIM conforming the same? or relevant to the above info??

 

Or is there anyway to reuse the same set of keys on multiple machines?

 

 

 

 

Thanks and Regards,
PraveenGoparaju.
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1,123
Registered: ‎02-10-2009
My Device: 8130 / 8350 / 9530 / 9550 / 9850 / PlayBook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: One Set of Keys on Multiple Machines?

[ Edited ]

You can move teh keys to another machine by copying the needed files over to the new machine. The private key password should be the one that was set when creating/installing the siging files. I actually installed my keys on a flash drive and carry it with me. That way I can sign the files on any pc with no issues.

Developer
Posts: 638
Registered: ‎07-02-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: One Set of Keys on Multiple Machines?

Thanks for the reply,

 

But, I dont have the private key with me, thats the actuall problem. I dont have the RIM keys installed previously, in this machine, so I tried to import the keys. It is asking for private key.

 

Is there anyway to set the private key password, without installing the keys and just by importing them.??

 

 

Thanks and Regards,
PraveenGoparaju.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,885
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV
My Carrier: Bell

Re: One Set of Keys on Multiple Machines?

BlackBerry code signing keys only support a single PC.

 

The private key password is created when the BlackBerry code signing keys are installed.  It is not possible to view or change it afterwards.  The only way to reset the password is to re-install the code signing keys.  To do that you'll need to request a replacement set of csi files from devsupport@rim.com.  But note that they keys would be sent to the original registered user.

 

 

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Developer
Posts: 638
Registered: ‎07-02-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: One Set of Keys on Multiple Machines?

Thanks MSohm.

 

Do we need to pay, for replacement of keys?

Thanks and Regards,
PraveenGoparaju.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,885
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV
My Carrier: Bell

Re: One Set of Keys on Multiple Machines?

No, there is no charge for replacement keys.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Developer
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎07-11-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: One Set of Keys on Multiple Machines?

If that is the case what is the function of "Import Existing Keys..."?

 

I am also getting a Private Key file not found.  I actually have the .csi files stored in another place.

Highlighted
BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,885
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV
My Carrier: Bell

Re: One Set of Keys on Multiple Machines?

BlackBerry Code Signing keys can be installed in multiple applications on the same PC (BlackBerry JDE, BlackBerry Java Plug-in for Eclipse, BlackBerry Widget SDK).  The import keys function imports keys that were installed into another application into the BlackBerry Java Plug-in for Eclipse.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.