Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
New Developer
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎09-26-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Open Tunnel problem

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

 

Our application communicates with a web server to retrieve and update data. here we are making http conection for retriving data from web server .our problem is some times we get open tunnel -failure i know that this problem is coming because APN setting under advacedoptions/tcp is blank . and when we give apn setting it work fine .but our aim is that our applaction should run without setting apn .i have also tried it with deiceside=true ,deviside =false one after the other and also retrive the WAP APN,WAPGatewayIP,WAPGatewayAPN,WapGatewayPort and append this to the URL that we are passing in Connector.open()...

 

But still when APN inside the advanced options/tcp is blank we get the same error..Is there come think i m missing i have also used CovrageInfo class to check the carrier and MDS but doing all this stuff no help still i m getting open tunnel-failure.

 

Please can any one help me on this issue now i have give up with this open tunnel failure ..

 

 

Regard,

Neev 

navneetdifferent@gmail.com

 

 

Message Edited by Neev on 10-17-2008 02:33 AM
BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,723
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Open Tunnel problem

You can specify the APN in your connection URL.  This overrides whatever has been put in the TCP options.

 

 How To - Specify APN information for a direct TCP connection 
Article Number: DB-00532

http://www.blackberry.com/knowledgecenterpublic/livelink.exe/fetch/2000/348583/800451/800563/How_To_...

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
New Developer
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎09-26-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Open Tunnel problem

Thank i have tried that to if my apn setting is blank then also it give me same error and i want to make http conection by giving apn in TCP as blank

 

please is the some other method to solve ad make http connection with using apn.

Regards,

Navneet Gupta

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,723
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Open Tunnel problem

Please verify with your carrier that your account has access to make TCP connections using that APN.
Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker