Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Trusted Contributor
My Device: Torch
My Carrier: Digicel
Accepted Solution

Panning a normal screen

Hello

I'm new to application development; and I mean very new. I'm however trying to do something a bit unorthodox. What I want to do is create a screen three buttons (Top, middle and bottom). Then I want the following action to be performed: When a button is pressed, I want the screen to pan in a particular direction. I need help ASAP, please. And I'm not really a fan for copying and pasting code. So an explanation would be much appreciated. But if not, I'll take what I get.

Thanks in advance.

You would be meaningless.
Developer
My Device: various
My Carrier: various

Re: Panning a normal screen

Take a look at Manager.setVerticalScroll method. Since any Screen (and MainScreen in particular - are you using that?) is a Manager, the method is available there. To find out the full (not just visible) Screen height, use getVirtualHeight.

----------------------------------------------------------
please click 'Accept Solution' on posts that provide the solution to the question you've posted. Don't say "Thanks", press 'Like' button instead!
Trusted Contributor

So am I able to control that method by clicking a button? For example can I place that in ItemListener..or is it actionListener..well can I?

Developer