Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,784
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Problem in sending SMS through simulator.


Tredekka wrote:

 

If you would be so kind as to point me in the right direction, I'd greatly appreciate it....

 

  • Regarding your post below...  (specifically in the:   "Launch the BlackBerry simulator"   section)

 

Here is what my shortcut states:

@echo off
fledge.exe /app=Jvm.dll /handheld=9530 /session=9530 /app-param=DisableRegistration /app-param=JvmAlxConfigFile:9530.xml /data-port=0x4d44 /data-port=0x4d4e /pin=0x2100000A

So I'm not sure where the "/sms-source-port and /sms-destination-port" part applies.?.

 


 


You can add thes additional parameters to the command line you have above.  Just ensure that you switch the ports you use on the command prompt so that the source port of simulator A matches the destination port of simulator B.  Note that you can't run two simulators from the same directory.

 


Tredekka wrote:

 

  • Secondly, elsewhere you allude to:
SMS Client Application in conjunction with the SMS Demo Server


This is located in the .\JDE_INSTALL_DIR\samples\com\rim\samples\server\smsdemo.  It is nearly the same location as the device side samples, you just need to brach off to server instead of device in the second samples directory.

 

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Highlighted
New Developer
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-10-2009
My Device: Storm 9530

Re: Problem in sending SMS through simulator.

Mark,

 

Thanks, I'll try those things out! 

 

Do you have any idea as to why they restrict access to the SMS store on the Blackberry?

 

Do you know of any alternatives?  ... somehow using the backup files, does blackberry have logs, etc?

 

Feel free to pm me at my user name at yahoo dot com.

 

Thanks in advance,

 

George

New Developer
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-06-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Problem in sending SMS through simulator.

I don't think real SMS works on the BB Simulator, since it's on the Fledge network, not a real carrier that supports SMS.

 

If you want to send a real SMS message, there is a good J2ME SMS article here: 

    http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/wireless/library/wi-p2pmsg/

(or Google search for "Mobile P2P messaging").

 

The code in Listing 1 worked nicely, and is very simple, just 5 lines. 

 

SMS Code:  (wrap this in a try/catch)
String addr = "sms://+123456789";
MessageConnection conn = (MessageConnection) Connector.open(addr);

TextMessage msg = (TextMessage) conn.newMessage(MessageConnection.TEXT_MESSAGE);
msg.setPayloadText("Hello SMS World");

conn.send(msg);
// catch exceptions

 

New Developer
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
My Device: 8120
My Carrier: tmobile

Re: Problem in sending SMS through simulator.

this is becoming a huge problem when competing against android and windows mobile - when can RIM give us access to the inbox?  there is a very clear competitve and market share retention case for RIM to support this!

 

Mark?

Developer
Posts: 571
Registered: ‎04-11-2009
My Device: BB 10 Dev Alpha

Re: Problem in sending SMS through simulator.

I agree with above poster..  We should be given access to SMS inbox and also others are providing lock/ unlock privilege which RIM is not providing us Smiley Sad...

 

Thanks & Regards,

Kanak

Regards,
Kanak Sony
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
http://dodevelopnshare.wordpress.com/ | http://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=188131481&trk=tab_pro
Developer
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎02-25-2011
My Device: T Mobile 8900
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Problem in sending SMS through simulator.

Getting IOException while running the above code snippet at line conn.send(msgtext).

Can any one help me out to fix this.

 

Thanks.

Thanks And Regards,
Nishant
Developer
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎02-25-2011
My Device: T Mobile 8900
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Problem in sending SMS through simulator.

It's not IOException it is runtime exception can anyone help me please.

Thanks And Regards,
Nishant