Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-09-2011
My Device: Developer
My Carrier: Developer
Accepted Solution

Push initiator

Hi, I have been trying to use a push service (BIS) where mi client is a simulator, I believe I have all the files needed.

I downloaded a simple BIS version that i've found on an article in this forum, where to use the client you only need two files.

 

My problem is that I don't know how to make my Server-side app work, any help will be appreciated.

Developer
Posts: 543
Registered: ‎12-23-2010
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: Push initiator

Hi Araziel,

Can you tell me one thing,
You need test server provided by RIM or Server side code?
Developer
Posts: 17,025
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: Push initiator

the simulator does not have a BIS connection, you have to use a real device.

the server does not have to do much, just send a http request with the push data to the address provided by rim. everything else is your design.
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-09-2011
My Device: Developer
My Carrier: Developer

Re: Push initiator

Server side code, i already have the necesary packages from RIM (Push SDk) now i'll research about how to combine those libraries with PHP

New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-09-2011
My Device: Developer
My Carrier: Developer

Re: Push initiator

Simon_hain, could you give me an example of how i should do the http request?

Developer
Posts: 17,025
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: Push initiator

Check the HTTPPushDemo in your samples project/folder, i am using it's code to run testcases with the bes push code here.
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Contributor
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎01-29-2013
My Device: BB10
My Carrier: BlackBerry

Re: Push initiator

Hello,

 

Could I have an example of code to how use the PHP language as a push initiator.

 

Regards,

Thanks.