Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎07-02-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Question about BIS connection

Hi Mark,

 

Per the following article,

 

What Is - Different ways to make an HTTP or socket connection
Last Updated: 13 August 2008
Article Number: DB-00396

http://www.blackberry.com/knowledgecenterpublic/livelink.exe/fetch/2000/348583/800901/How_To_-_Setup...

 

 

In order to use BIS connection, I need to be a member of BlackBerry independent software vendor (ISV) Alliance program.

Here is my questions.

 

1. Let's say I do Connection.open("http://www.google.com").  Today, for a non-member (please correct me if I'm wrong), if MDS is enable, the connection goes to MDS. If MDS is not enabled, it goes to direct TCP.

Let's say I become a member, am I correct saying that if MDS is enable, the connection still goes to MDS. If MDS is not enabled, the connection will go to BIS instead of directTCP. Am I correct?  Or I will need to put a special string to make it goes to BIS?

 

2. How does the BB Software Platform/OS knows which application is a member of alliiance program? Based on application module/cod name?

 

Thank you for your help as always.

 

Developer
Posts: 19,636
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Question about BIS connection

I suspect you have pasted in the wrong link.  I think you meant this link:

http://www.blackberry.com/knowledgecenterpublic/livelink.exe/fetch/2000/348583/800451/800563/What_Is...

 

Just to preempt Mark, I think the answers to your questions are that when you become an Alliance member, you will given documentation that answers your questions!

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,889
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Question about BIS connection

Peter is correct.  This information is provided to BlackBerry ISV Alliance Members after their applications have been granted access to connect using the BlackBerry Internet Service.
Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.