Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
New Developer
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎10-28-2009
My Device: Not Specified

@RIM, make things work under Win7 64bit!

Sorry,

 

but it is so hard for people to develop apps for the blackberry world if the needed tools does not work properly.

Under Windows 7 64bit (or Vista 64bit) the fledge.exe (blackberry simulator) does not work properly.

 

- No debug output to the eclipse console

- No exit possible (click on exit or red cross does not close the window, in fact it freezes and you have to kill the process manually!)

 

This is no fun to develop!

New Developer
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎10-28-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: @RIM, make things work under Win7 64bit!

I have Win7 x64 and debug output works fine when starting in debug mode.

 

The freezing simulator problem is really annoying...

New Developer
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎08-12-2008
My Device: Bold

Re: @RIM, make things work under Win7 64bit!

same problems here for a long time now - this needs to be fixed!

New Developer
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎08-10-2009
My Device: Bold, Curve

Re: @RIM, make things work under Win7 64bit!

Same problem here.

 

If I close the process (via task manager) some times I get the horrible error on Eclipse that another debugging session is open and I have to restart eclipse.

 

The only workaround I know is to "disconnect" the simulator from Eclipse, instead of exiting or closing the simulator.

Franklin Garcia
Senior Software Java Developer
Schematic
Costa Rica
Developer
Posts: 1,055
Registered: ‎01-25-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Bold 9650/BlackBerry Torch 9800

Re: @RIM, make things work under Win7 64bit!

They do state that 64-bit is not supported for any of their tools but I think its about time that they do support it. The only problem I have under my 64-bit rig is the simulator doesn't close normally.

Jerome Carty - Follow jcarty on Twitter@jcarty | #webworks-dev / #BlackberryDev on irc.freenode.net | My Apps
Click "Accept as Solution" if post solved your original issue.. Give like/thumbs up if you feel post is helpful
Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 1,807
Registered: ‎04-28-2009
My Device: Z10 (STL100-4)-10.3.2.858, Z10 (STL100-3)-10.3.1.2576, Z30 (STA100-5)-10.3.1.2582, Passport (SQW100-1)-10.3.1.2576, PlayBook (16GB)-2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: @RIM, make things work under Win7 64bit!

I figure there will be a big update mid-2010 (they stated that live Simulator updates, GUI builder, various APIs, etc. will be comming out mid-2010) so I wouldn't be surprised if 64bit was supported then.

---Spends time in #blackberrydev on freenode (IRC)----
Three simple rules:
1. Please use the search bar before making new posts.
2. "Like" posts that you find helpful.
3. If a solution has been found for your post, mark it as solved.
--I code too much. Well, too bad.