Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Developer
My Device: Blackberry Torch 9800
Accepted Solution

Running Background thread(sms listening thread) connected to the GUI app(alternate entry point)

Hi, I am new to Blackberry development,  I have read all about application running on startup and having an alternate entry point for that application. Still i need help with my application

i am using BB JDE 4.7

simulator : BB 9530 4.7.0

I am developing an SMS application. (extends UiApplication)

1) It has a thread which listens to incoming messages

2) It has a thread which is a SMS sender

3) it has one main screen and two full screens. so when the user clicks a button in any of the full screens.. i am sending a message

4) When a message is received , based on the message content i am pushing either of the one full screen

5) I have, all the threads and screens as the inner class of the main class extending the UiApplication.

I have succeeded the basic functionality. I need help in making the application as the autostartup application

1) i need to start the sms listener thread when the BB phone starts up

2) i need to have the application icon in the applications screen as the alternate entry point for the application (only for GUI) and still the listener thread should be active in the background.

3) when an incoming message is detected, the GUI application should be brought to the foreground(if its not already forground) after displaying a popup (instead of bringing the application to the foreground, is it better to display a flashing icon in the status bar of the blackberry home screen and may be global popup)

4) when the GUI part of the application is closed, i need to stop the sms sending thread, and when the system shuts down i need to stop the listening thread.