Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

New Contributor
My Device: Curve 8520
My Carrier: T-mobile
Accepted Solution

SMS color texts and font selections

Hi everyone. I'm new to the app developement word. I was hoping someone could lead me in the right direction. I want to create an app that allows the sms body text color and font to be customizable. I have seen a few apps out there so I know it's possible, however, they don't seem to work with os 5.0. This is really more of a personal app for myself I guess you could say. I used to have a bold 9000 that allowed font color and had a vast variety of font styles to choose from and I'd like to have that on my 8520. Can someone help get me started? Again I've never done this before so what I'm really looking for is maybe a quick step-by-step to get me going. I'm not looking to steal or take credit for anyone's hard work (well to me it's hard work because I can't even successfully create a dang theme yet), I just want a little boost so I don't get stuck on my first step like I did with theme building. Smiley Happy Thanks a million in advance!

Developer
My Device: Not Specified

Re: SMS color texts and font selections

Can you describe which apps allow you to send Font and color info via standard SMS?

SMS is a 160-char message sent using 7-bit encoding. I'm not aware of any way to encode color and font info, nor would a standard SMS client on the other end would be able to interpret this info.

New Contributor