Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
New Developer
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎07-18-2011
My Device: Torch
My Carrier: Developer
Accepted Solution

Same App but .cod size varies with different OS version?

 

Hi All

I have an App when Im trying to make build in 5.0 the cod size shown me 71kb
Same App when Im trying to make build in 6.0 the cod size shown me 71kb
But in 7.0 the size shown only 35kb

Why this type of different cod file sizes are happening for the same App.

with that minimum .cod file i.e 35kb file is working fine in all simulators,will it get any problem if i deploy in device of different versions?

 

Developer
Posts: 19,636
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Same App but .cod size varies with different OS version?

OS 7.0 compiled applications may work but are not supported on older levels of the OS.  So if you want to run with the smaller version it is on your own head. 

 

Have a look at the jar file associated with the application, compare the OS 5.0 compiled jar with the OS 7.0 compiled jar to see what is making the difference. 

New Developer
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎07-18-2011
My Device: Torch
My Carrier: Developer

Re: Same App but .cod size varies with different OS version?

Thank you for reply,

its working fine in OS4.6 simulators,i.e., in 8350.So It has to work fine in device right.!

Can you confirm on this please...


Thanks and regards,
hariprasad.
Developer
Posts: 16,992
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: Same App but .cod size varies with different OS version?

you should compile against the minimum used version. if you use it on a 4.6 simulator you should compile with OS 4.6 or lower.
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
New Developer
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎07-18-2011
My Device: Torch
My Carrier: Developer

Re: Same App but .cod size varies with different OS version?

Okay, as of now its working fine in os 4.6,5.0,6.0......Can you tell me in which situation we will face problem..Am using all 4.6 api only
Developer
Posts: 16,992
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: Same App but .cod size varies with different OS version?

i cannot say where you will face problems. i have outlined the RIM guidelines to you, if you decide, for whatever reason, not to follow them that is entirely up to you.
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
New Developer
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎07-18-2011
My Device: Torch
My Carrier: Developer

Re: Same App but .cod size varies with different OS version?

Hi I compared both the OS5.0 and OS7.0 compiled jar files.
I found difference only in the .cod file and remaining are same in size.

So will it affect ?
Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 19,636
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Same App but .cod size varies with different OS version?

"So will it affect ? "

 

I don't understand this question. 

 

Simon has summarized the situation with respect to compiling at the various levels in his previous post.  What more do you want to know?