Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Developer
Posts: 19,636
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Sample HTTP Connection code and BIS-B Access

Transport Detective is actually originally from here:

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Java-Development/What-Is-Network-API-alternative-for-legacy-O...

 

Review that code for further information on this setting.  My simple code does not use this transport, though it would appear that it could.

Developer
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎10-06-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Sample HTTP Connection code and BIS-B Access

Thanks Peter,

 

I have dropped the comments there. Hopefully I'll get the clarification.

 

As far as I know, there is no way you can find out programmatically if APN setting is enabled or not. But it will be very helpful if we can - which will allow the application to ask user to config the APNs instantly instead of waiting for "Tunner Failure" error message.

 

Regards

Nitin

New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-25-2011
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Sample HTTP Connection code and BIS-B Access

I'm hoping someone can help. New to bb development...I've played around with httpdemo and read a lot, I've good a basic understanding of the process, but I can't figure out how to search through the data the httpconnection gets to find the value a user submits through an EditField. So I've got the connection and it gets raw data (bytes) but I don't know how to search through that data for the "text/numbers" the user is prompted. Thanks guys
Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎05-11-2010
My Device: 8900
My Carrier: Orange

Re: Sample HTTP Connection code and BIS-B Access

Hi all,

 

This post is very interesting. I sent a request to RIM to get the push inside my application. But I've been waiting for an answer for 2.5 months !! That's crazy !! Everybody says that this code is working perfectly, I receive 10 emails per day only because of connection error ! I have also ask to become an Alliance Member, but no answer yet.

 

It's really painful for me to use Direct TCP connection, and to help people to configure their APN....

 

So my question is : are you all Alliance Member ?? Did you all get the push functionnality ?

 

Do you know how I can get an answer from RIM ? I don't know how to contact them.

 

 

Thanks in advance for your help.

 

Antoine

Developer
Posts: 324
Registered: ‎03-10-2010
My Device: Bold 9780, DevAlpha
My Carrier: Vodafone CZ

Re: Sample HTTP Connection code and BIS-B Access. HTTPS bug?

[ Edited ]

There is a very strange error. If I've trying to make HTTP request via BIS-B/BES all is OK. But if i'm trying to make HTTPS request then i've got

 

Error 500. (Server cannot process request)

 

Looks like this code does not works with HTTPS connection over BIS-B/BES Smiley Sad May be we miss something in URL connection string?

Developer
Posts: 4,764
Registered: ‎07-21-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Sample HTTP Connection code and BIS-B Access. HTTPS bug?

The 500 error is generated by the server. You will need to check the server-side logs to determine the cause.

Developer
Posts: 324
Registered: ‎03-10-2010
My Device: Bold 9780, DevAlpha
My Carrier: Vodafone CZ

Re: Sample HTTP Connection code and BIS-B Access. HTTPS bug?

Forget about it! Smiley Wink

 

This is issue of BESx 5.0.1

 

Going to upgrade...

Developer
Posts: 324
Registered: ‎03-10-2010
My Device: Bold 9780, DevAlpha
My Carrier: Vodafone CZ

Re: Sample HTTP Connection code and BIS-B Access. HTTPS bug?

[ Edited ]

Bug found:

 

There is no matter - BIS or BES/MDS will be selected. All connections goes via BES MDS (looking into MDS log at my BES server).

 

Investigating....

 

PS. I'm looking for the way - how to process request via BIS, becaus HTTPS request via BES is a BUGGY!

 

Access to specific HTTPS site, that returns XML on HTTPS request (via internal Browser, not code!):

 

BES/MDS (BlackBerry browser)

 

OS5: Error 500

OS6: Error 403

 

But if i'm trying to change browser to BIS (Internet Browser) - all is OK.

Developer
Posts: 324
Registered: ‎03-10-2010
My Device: Bold 9780, DevAlpha
My Carrier: Vodafone CZ

Re: Sample HTTP Connection code and BIS-B Access. HTTPS bug?

        public String getHttpMdsUrl(boolean e2eRequired){
                String e2e="";
                if(e2eRequired)
                        e2e = ";EndToEndRequired";
                
                if(isSecured()){
                        return "https://" + host + ":" + port + absPath + ";deviceside=false" + e2e;                    
                } else{
                        return "http://" + host + ":" + port + absPath + ";deviceside=false";
                }
        }
        
        public String getHttpBisUrl(){
                if(isSecured()){
                        return "https://" + host + ":" + port + absPath + ";deviceside=false";                  // BIS Parameter not shown here 
                } else{
                        return "http://" + host + ":" + port + absPath + ";deviceside=false";                   // BIS Parameter not shown here
                }
        }

 

 

This functions is a similar! What BIS Parameter means? How to get it?

Developer
Posts: 324
Registered: ‎03-10-2010
My Device: Bold 9780, DevAlpha
My Carrier: Vodafone CZ

Re: Sample HTTP Connection code and BIS-B Access. HTTPS bug?

Found it!

 

Peter, why you do not publish this string? There is no key, simple parameter... Smiley Wink