Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Contributor
My Device: 8820
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: Sharing my library with a business partner

Web Service is an interesting idea, but connectivity from the device is not always reliable.  

Developer
My Device: BOLD 9700 OS5.0.0.x on Rogers Canada
My Carrier: Rogers

Very true. As I said, it's not a perfect solution by any means. I'm not sure what IPC is, so I'm afraid I have no insight on that particular matter. I'm fairly new to all of this.

Good luck,

~Dom

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
chown -R us ./base
~J!NX
Developer
My Device: ಠ_ಠ

[ Edited ]

IPC would rely on the correct permissions being set for both applications, and it would have to be fully event driven... which could be fine, you just need to make sure there are sanity checks incase a global event fails (lost or throws exception).

Developer
My Device: Bold 9000
My Carrier: AT&T

rcmaniac25 wrote:

If you send the JAR that gets packaged for BlackBerry it will have java files that have been stripped of code. Something like:

public static void main(String[] args)
{
     System.out.println("Hello World");
}

Will show up in a decompiler as:

public extern static void main(String[] args);

So you you don't need to worry as long as you send the correct JAR.

Not true.  Javap, the program that comes with the JDK will only give you the method headers and fields for a class.  A real decompiler could get the code in a JAR file.

Contributor
My Device: 8820
My Carrier: T-Mobile

DAquilina wrote:

Very true. As I said, it's not a perfect solution by any means. I'm not sure what IPC is, so I'm afraid I have no insight on that particular matter. I'm fairly new to all of this.

Good luck,

~Dom