Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Highlighted
New Contributor
My Device: curve
My Carrier: at & t

Simulator and SQLite databasem

Hello.  Blackberry newbie here, looking to port an iPhone app to the RIM world...  The app in question uses SQLite to store product information and images.  In the Java code on the BB, I attempt to open the DB at the location "file:///store/home/user/myDatabasefile.db" but it keeps saying that the SQL is incorrect or that the DB cannot be found.  I believe the problem is that it cannot find the database as the SQL is simply "select * from mytable".  The myDatabasefile.db exists in my project but I'm not sure how to reference it pathwise.  Do I need to copy this file somehow onto the "device" which is the simulator for now?  I've seen sample code but it always creates the DB from scratch.  I've already created and populated my DB...  Any help is appreciate.  I guess this question will help when it comes time to really distro the application on real devices.  I'll know how to copy it into the proper directory...  Thanks in advance!

-Brian

Developer
My Device: Bold 9000
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Simulator and SQLite databasem

Hi,

The database locations in your device are located as explained here http://docs.blackberry.com/en/developers/deliverables/8682/SQLite_file_locations_719036_11.jsp.

When using the simulator, you must point your SDCard directory to any location on your computer (using the simulator menu Simulate->Change SD Card. Considering your DB files are right in this directory, you should be able to open it using "/SDCard/myDatabasefile.db".

Check this other document for reference: http://docs.blackberry.com/en/developers/deliverables/8682/BP_SQLite_development_cycle_801356_11.jsp

Regads

(*) Kudo-me if you really think I helped you!